Oaxaca with Donzetta - A weekend of rest


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
May 1st 2012
Published: May 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

It is the time again for new entries. This weekend was a time of rest for me. I have photos of what a rest for me looks like.

This weekend was also the time that this feeling of "homesickness" overcame me. I guess I had too much slow time. I am better now that some of the school staff and students assured me that they are my friends and family here and encouraged me to dry my eyes. (I can be a real baby!). I think I am back on track now.

The weekend here for students is considered Friday afternoon through Sunday, hence the number of photos. Hope you enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

La comida para el fin de semanaLa comida para el fin de semana
La comida para el fin de semana

I bought a green pottery pot from the market the past sunday and I am preparing food for the next few days. It is mostly veggies from the market and bacon (the lady in the market told me to use to flavor vegetables. Es muy sabrosa.
En la EstufaEn la Estufa
En la Estufa

It is now on the stove. You can see how large the pot is. I am looking forward to enjoying.
Nuevo MarcadoNuevo Marcado
Nuevo Marcado

I found out there is another PITICO store closer to my posada. Here I am standing at my front gate and the store is at the corner with green overhead sign...much closer than the other one.
La Casa Enfrente de Mi PasadaLa Casa Enfrente de Mi Pasada
La Casa Enfrente de Mi Pasada

I just noticed this house today. It is across the street from my posada. There are a lot of hidden gems behind the barred entranes.
Solamente Voy a RelajarmeSolamente Voy a Relajarme
Solamente Voy a Relajarme

This is my weekend to relax. Here I am in the dining area in my "regalo" from my friend Barbara. The set is comfortable and I can wear it in the common area.
En Via a la LavanderiaEn Via a la Lavanderia
En Via a la Lavanderia

I couldn't resist stopping to get a picture of these guys cutting down trees on a saturday morning. I was on my way to the lavanderia to leave my clothes to be laundered...what a luxury.
Tentacion en la TiendaTentacion en la Tienda
Tentacion en la Tienda

Next to the lavanderia is the cutest little dress shop. Of course I couldn't resist stopping there and buying. Of course it is my weekend to rest and do what I want.
El Cafe ArabiaEl Cafe Arabia
El Cafe Arabia

At the edge of the park is this wonderful coffee shop...very popular. Of course I couldn't resist stopping and getting a cup of cafe americano corto, which is coffee with cream.
Mi Companero de Clase y Su EsposaMi Companero de Clase y Su Esposa
Mi Companero de Clase y Su Esposa

This is my classmate Tony and his wife. Shannon, from St. Paul, Minnesota. They were traveling through Mexico and spent a week at our spanish school in Oaxaco...very nice couple! This was taken sunday after mass at St. Domingo.
Musicos JovenesMusicos Jovenes
Musicos Jovenes

This was a group of youths that played and sang during mass. They sounded like a recording. The youth hear are very talented musicians. Most learn instruments at a very early age.
Un otra Tentacion en una TiendaUn otra Tentacion en una Tienda
Un otra Tentacion en una Tienda

I was headed from mass to the ice cream shop and passed this tienda with this very pretty dress. I decided it was much too expensive, so I took a picture and kept walking.
La Heladeria y YoLa Heladeria y Yo
La Heladeria y Yo

This is me at the ice cream shop...one of my missions for today...many flavors of ice creams and nievas.
Un Banda de Adutos en el ZocaloUn Banda de Adutos en el Zocalo
Un Banda de Adutos en el Zocalo

This sunday there was an adult band playing in the park..lots of classical music. This is truly a place of all of the arts.
Chocolate OaxaquenanChocolate Oaxaquenan
Chocolate Oaxaquenan

This is the place where the in Oaxaca. We are standing in front of the molinera (mixer). I am told that it is the best chocolate in the world. They had a special so of course I bought some.
El Mercado de Veinte de NoviembreEl Mercado de Veinte de Noviembre
El Mercado de Veinte de Noviembre

Here I am in one of the puestos in the November 20th Market. I need a bag to carry things. Of course I had to get a picture with the joven.
El Parque Conzatti Otra VezEl Parque Conzatti Otra Vez
El Parque Conzatti Otra Vez

Here is another view of Conzatti Park. I am on my way back home after a full sunday.
Los CanadiensesLos Canadienses
Los Canadienses

This is a couple from Canada that was in the posada for a couple of weeks. They are taking spanish classes (in another spanish school) and are headed for South America to travel...


3rd May 2012

The girls miss U
They think they are going to your house when we are out north. When will you be home.
9th May 2012

I miss the girls too!
I am alway talking about them here. Everyone here knows that I have 3 sobrinas (nieces) and I miss them. I will be home the end of this month...on the 30th. I will plan to see the girls asap. Oh, please tell them Happy Birthday for me!!!!!
4th May 2012

awwww
that's all I could think of as a comment title because every picture is so great. You eating ice cream, chocolate, buying or looking at clothes. You are going to be so rested when you return to us. You are homesick because you see and hear and feel so many wonderful things that you want us to be included and it makes you sad that we aren't there to enjoy all of it with you. But I at least am enjoying it through your pictures and stories. Keep up the good work and hurry back.
9th May 2012

aaww you are so very precious
Laverne you know just the right things to say to make me feel better, especially about my homesickness. I am better now that I am rolling downhill toward home. I am glad that you enjoy the photos.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb