Oaxaca with Donzetta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
April 26th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

La Heladeria MichoacanaLa Heladeria MichoacanaLa Heladeria Michoacana

This is just outside of the ice cream store. You can order and just set out side at shaded tables and watch the activity in the Zocalo...always plenty going on.
Well, it's me again with more photos and adventures. I went to the Zocalo (main plaza) on Sunday. I ate ice cream at Michoacana heladeria and walked around and looked and listened to the youth band. They were playing in honor of the 480th anniversary of the city of Oaxaca. They were very good. After the Zocalo I went to the Veinte de Noviembre Marcado (the November 20th Market). I did not take many photos there. For some reason the vendors will tell you "no" when you ask to take their pictures and we have to respect their wishes.

Today (wed.) in Llano park there was a parade to celebrate the aniversario. It would have been great to have my camera to take a video. I have decided to take my camera with me everywhere. You never know here when there might be a photo opportunity.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Otro Lado del ZocaloOtro Lado del Zocalo
Otro Lado del Zocalo

This is the other side of the town plaza (across from the heladeria) with various restaurants serving under shaded tables.
La Gente en el ZocaloLa Gente en el Zocalo
La Gente en el Zocalo

This is a view of people enjoying the town plaza on a Sunday afternoon.
Otra Vista de la Gente en el ZocaloOtra Vista de la Gente en el Zocalo
Otra Vista de la Gente en el Zocalo

This is another view of the town plaza near a fountain.
Mas del ZocaloMas del Zocalo
Mas del Zocalo

This is a stage in the town plaza where special musicians sometimes play and special programs are held.
Todavia un ArteTodavia un Arte
Todavia un Arte

In this photo there are a couple of shoe shine stands. In the town square there are multiple shoe shine stands
Las Personas alredador la BandaLas Personas alredador la Banda
Las Personas alredador la Banda

These are people gathered around the youth band playing in the town plaza in honor of the city's 480th anniversary.
La Banda de JovenesLa Banda de Jovenes
La Banda de Jovenes

This is a rear view of the youth band from all over the state of Oaxaca. Due to the people surrounding to see and hear the band it was difficult to get a good photo.
Vista Enfrente de la BandaVista Enfrente de la Banda
Vista Enfrente de la Banda

This is a front view of part of the youth band.
Una Otra Vista de la BandaUna Otra Vista de la Banda
Una Otra Vista de la Banda

This is another view of the front of the band.
Me Gusta la BandaMe Gusta la Banda
Me Gusta la Banda

I guess I couldn't get enough of taking photos of the band!
Una de Las Dos Iglesias en el ZocaloUna de Las Dos Iglesias en el Zocalo
Una de Las Dos Iglesias en el Zocalo

This is a view of one of the two churches in the town park. The other is on the diagonal corner of the plaza.
La Carneria en el MercadoLa Carneria en el Mercado
La Carneria en el Mercado

This is a photo of the meat market in the Viente de Noviembre mercado.
Otra Vista en el MercadoOtra Vista en el Mercado
Otra Vista en el Mercado

This is another view in the November 20th market. I did not get many photos since many in the market do not want their photos taken. The school advises us to always ask before taking a photo.
Un Futuro Famoso ArtistaUn Futuro Famoso Artista
Un Futuro Famoso Artista

On my way back to the Posada I stopped to see this guy painting Santo Domingo Iglesia. He lived in San Francisco for about 5 years. If I find his card I will include his web-site in the main portion.


27th April 2012

El zocalo
These photos bring back a lot of memories. When I was in Oaxaca we stayed in the hotel right on the zocalo and spent a lot of time hanging out there. I love it! Thanks very much for the updates. They're great!
28th April 2012

Oaxaca
Donzetta, I enjoyed the photos very much. The panoramic shot is really cool. Since I am also visiting Oaxaca, I can attest to how many things there are to see and do. I especially enjoyed the youth concert in the park. Thanks for including me in you blog list.
1st May 2012

Oaxaca
I am so glad to know that you are enjoying the blog. It is my attempt to share with others my wonderful experiences here. I hope you guys are continuing to enjoy your "viaje del mundo".
3rd May 2012

Amazing
Donzetta,you are a go-getter,for sure. My prayers are with you. Thanks for sharing
3rd May 2012

Amazing
Hi Joan, I'm so glad you got a chance to read my blog and I sure do appreciate your prayer. Thank you
20th February 2013
La Heladeria Michoacana

Quisiera un helado de limon Me encanta la michoacana
Tengo celos
20th February 2013
La Heladeria Michoacana

To tambien
Tuve una nieve de pina y fresa. Muy rica!!! Yo te extrano aqui. Tu amiga, Donzetta

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb