San Christobal


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
February 6th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I realized that I didn´t talk too much about San Cristobal. It is such a mellow place nestled into the mountains. The area is pretty and the people I encountered were friendly and kind ...which has been my experience throughout this country. The hospitality offered is sincere and as a fellow travellor said the actions are all geared toward making your experience in their country a pleasant one.

In San Cristobal there is a large indigenous presence. The woman of the different tribes have specific costumes. One group wears the most amazing blue=green=purple embroidered on black or indigo cotton. Another wears shiny polyester pooffy tops and dark skirts. Another wears black combed wool...maybe animal skins...skirts.Still another wears gingham aprons over their clothing. It is all very colourful...and then there are the shoes.Plastic , leather ,sandals,high heels,boots...but I don-t think I saw any indiginous women wearing runners.

Up by San Domingo Church (the pink one in the last blog) there is an artisan market where the tribes sell their textiles ,leather work ,jewellry and whatever else they think they can market including Pashminas from India ... Further north was the regular Mercado and it was really quite large. I liked it a great deal. Fruit , vegetables ,flowers ,meats and anything you might need to cook ,clean or repair something in your home. It was a busy place but orderly.

Closer to the Plaza there were pedestrian shopping streets which I always appreciate. Goods both high end and not , restaurants , coffee shops ,ice cream outlets, amber , jewelry in silver and in semiprecious stones,internet cafes ...whatever a tourist (Mexican or gringo) might find appealing .Even a theatre where I saw a production called PALENQUE ROJA .Drama ,dance ,costumes ,drums ,a hint of Cirque action...amazing.It was all based on the capture of the king of Palenque and his struggles ,real and imagined .

I have come to realize that there are a LOT of Mexican tourists and, many Europeans from France and the northern countries .Air fare from Germany to Cancun can be had for 400 USD one way...which is a great bargain. Tourism is a major source of income in this area . I can understand why.

One thing I had not expected was how cold it got in San Cristobal. It is up in the mountains and when the sun goes down it is COLD . After the first night I learned to wear 3 layers on top and long pants overtop of my capris...shoes and socks also. I don-t know why I didn-t check my thermometer...

Whatever , San Christobal was a good experience and lucky me a young woman from Seatle gave me a dramamine for the overnight bus to Oaxaca ...amazing... I slept for most of the journey although I did feel us turning corners quite quickly sometimes and that sensation of going downhill most of the time. I also vaguely recall the bus stopping and lights going on while army types walked through on two different occassions...I was very surprised when the driver announced that we were arriving in Oaxaca ...

More later...I tried to upload photos tonight but theis computer kept freezing ...maybe later.

Hope all is well

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1017.3kb