Beauty of Mexico


Advertisement
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Home sweet HomeHome sweet HomeHome sweet Home

I said I was in the jungle!
Before I close the book on Palenque I must tell you that my last morning in Panjan I woke up early enough that I decided to head back up the mountain one last time.The mist was still in the air and it was flattering to the surroundings . The mountains (big hills) of the region are beautiful . They are beautifully rounded and green with trees and plants of every shade imaginable . The journey in the collectivo takes about 5 minutes and you are climbing the whole time .Palenque looked great ... but it was still souless...I am glad though that I saw it .It will make the photo that hangs in my kitchen a REAL place.!

Palenque to San Cristobal de las Casas is @ 250 kms ...uphill ...around curves ...uphill...more curves for a grand total of 5 1/2 hours. The journey reminded me a bit of the Highway to the Sky in Vietnam . We stopped only once in that time . It was beautiful country and the road was actually quite good .It's all those curves and the corresponding speed bumps that slow you down. A fellow here at the hostel who is riding a motorcycle
Wow!!!Wow!!!Wow!!!

Another view
says it is really no faster for him. I am learning how to just be still , read ,watch the road and do a little writing . My next bus journey will be to Oaxaca next week...12 hours...so I just booked a seat on the overnight DELUXE bus in hopes of sleeping most of the way . Wish me luck !

San Cristobal...another delightful town. I am amazed at how different each of the cities have been . The prettiest has been Guanajuato but San Cristobal and Campeche come pretty close. Clean , laid out on a grid pattern that is easy to navigate , colourful in those Mexican pastels, with large plazas and enough trees and plants to make it interesting. Mexico is beautiful !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

PalenquePalenque
Palenque

It is magnificent isn't it
Fire DancerFire Dancer
Fire Dancer

She was really good . Two fellows also danced to the sounds of the drums
Jade Mask from the burial siteJade Mask from the burial site
Jade Mask from the burial site

If you look very carefully you can see my reflection in the glass
Cathedral at San CristobalCathedral at San Cristobal
Cathedral at San Cristobal

They relly built amazing churches
San DomingoSan Domingo
San Domingo

About 5 blocks from the cathedrsl. The engraving is in stucco and it is beautiful
MercadoMercado
Mercado

Who would believe all those beans
Street sceneStreet scene
Street scene

It was a cloudy day but you get the idea


Tot: 0.371s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb