Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » El Panchan
January 30th 2008
Published: January 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´m in the jungle and I really am enjoying it. The bus ride from Campeche was quite uneventful ...5 hours actually but it was pleasing to see the landscape change from the chapparral of the Yucatan to the rolling hills and trees of Chiapas. It truly is beautiful and lush. Agricultural endeavors seem to be a prosperous . The cattle , goats ,and horses are fat and healthy. No chickens in sight though. Someone said that there are not a lot of them farmed around here.It seems they raise more turkeys in the area.
I am staying at a place in the jungle instead of in the city this time and it is a pleasure to be away from the smell and noise of vehicles. Mind you last night ,as every night , 3 young people entertained us with fire dancing .Ropes ,bars ,and a chain with material soaked in diesal...quite spectacular but stinky.It is an interesting place.

Palenque is an impressive place. I spent about 2 hours with a guide and learned a great deal about the Mayans who lived there. It was only habitated for 150 years and no-one knows what happened...the Classic Mayan period just seemed to collapse. Nestled into these hills are somewhere around 1300 buildings of various size and shape. The temples and burial places seem to be the most impressive and the ones that have been restored. It is a museum really. Very well maintained , almost like a re-creation of something...I don´t know what it was but I found it hard to relate PEOPLE to the surroundings. I remember the first time I saw the Roman Forum , Delphi , the women's pavillian at Anchor Vat ,even the Terra Cotta soldiers in China . I sensed the presence of the people who had lived there. Although I spent the remainder of the afternoon walking , sitting and writing within the complex somehow I didn´t really connect with it all...but the thought entered my mind that I have to go to Egypt...duh...

Yesterday I spent my time at the Museo in Siteo and have more knowledge again ,and saw a phenominal replica of the burial casket as well as carvings in stucco ,clay and jade. I just can´t seem to relate to the weird birds ,feathers and figures of the mayan culture. Last night visiting with a couple from NZ/Ireland living in Brighton ...Dot and I had similar feelings about the place.Peter was touched spiritually by the site. I wonder if it is a gender thing ?

Today I move on to San Crisatobal and I am looking forward to some mountain air. Hopefully I´ll be able to download a few more photot there.

Hope all is well .Keep in touch here or at my regular mail.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.386s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0942s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb