San Miguel De Allende for Christmas


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » San Miguel de Allende
December 21st 2010
Published: December 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mexico Are We Crazy! Maybe just a Little!!



From the very beginning stages of planning everyone keeps asking if we are crazy. The Mexicans I know seem to be the most mystified at why I would want to go to Mexico with the current violent situation. However since I am not planning on meeting up with any Drug Cartels or visiting anyone in prison I think I can safely say no one is interested in us and taking the usual travel precautions we should be just fine. I have to say so far probably the most shocking of this trip is that I was able to use Continental Frequent Flier miles during the Holidays!! Albeit I had to fly into Mexico City and use some extra miles for an upgrade to first class on the flight home it came to a total of $67.00 US dollars+47,000 miles. Even more amazing I also was able to get Rick his ticket with his miles at the same time. At first we were having to fly through different cites and then meeting up in Houston then on the same flight to Mexico City. Somehow Continentals web site noticed this and changed our reservation so that we are leaving together direct from Portland with no stops in LA or SF. So Kudos out to Continental Airlines for doing such a good job. That said cheap tickets were the main reason going we are going to Mexico instead of places unexplored by us.
So even though we have been to Mexico many times this is new part of Mexico to explore for us. I have never been to SMA but have always heard about it with great reviews. What I know of San Miguel de Allende, is that it is A beautiful Unesco site filled with Grand Churches, Fabulous Museums, lots of Art Galleries, Steep one lane Cobblestone streets, Ex Pats, Great Food, Beautiful Views, more Ex Pats, A Fantastic Park Square (Zacolo in Spanish) Quirky Local Policeman riding Horseback in 17th century uniforms, Strolling Mariachis, Outside Cafes, pretty Gardens sounds pretty good huh? So this is our next Adventure and I hope to be able to bring it to those of you that aren't with us are that may just enjoy a good armchair travel experience. So armed with a Camera, an amazing Flip Video camera and a good eye, I hope to be able to bring it all alive for you. So have a Very Merry Christmas Everyone and Peace on Earth 2011!

Advertisement



21st December 2010

You go girl!
Hey Kimberly, This is Kath - the one who custom altered your antique stained glass window for your home. Just saw your blog and see your going to spend the holiday in Mexico and think that's wonderful. I know the dozens of times I flew overseas for my antique business, I always took time to explore some new area and especially fell in love with the architectural elements of each country and savoured the time driving myself (usually with a friend) through unbelievable sites one usually only dreams of. Been through almost all of Western Europe and we are indeed very blessed to have traveled as much as we have and for those roads yet to be traveled. So, its important to share like you are. Merry Christmas to you and yours from Oregon. Kath
24th December 2010

I was wondering what happened to you. Exactly where is this place in Mexixo? Hope you guys have a great holiday. I'll call you next month. We need to get together and catch up. I still want to take you to dinner for your belated B-day. Hi to Rick
24th December 2010

WAH WAH WAH
We're sitting in gray, cold, wet weather in Portland trying to make the most of the holidays... and to think we were invited. The only problem is I had a prior commitment to pick up poo samples for the hospital and couldn't get away. I think I need to get my priorities in order. Anyway, hope all is well for you guys. Be safe, have fun abd enjoy the holidays. Peace We love you both Joe and Linda
25th December 2010

Yeah I have lots to whine about LOL. Heading to Mexican neighbors for dinner and tomorrow BIG fiesta in the street in front of our house. Wish you were here need a shopping gallery partner Linda such Fabulous places to see! Maybe next time. Happy Holidazes!
25th December 2010

3 Hours out of Mexico City
Flew into mexico city and bussed 3.5 hours or so to San Miguel. Google it amazing scenery!
25th December 2010

Happy Holidays!
Thanks Kath traveling is a good thing. Hope you enjoy the blog!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb