Goya! Goya! Pumas Campeones!


Advertisement
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Pumas are the Champions!

My timing was perfect, arriving to spend this weekend in Mexico City with my cousin Kate and her husband, Rodolfo. I joined them to go and watch the Mexican soccer league final today, along with about 50,000 soccer-mad Mexicans!

Rodo is a huge fan of the Pumas soccer team, so it was a relief that the Pumas won! Otherwise, I can imagine he might have been pretty depressed for the rest of the evening (if not several weeks!).

It was a fabulous experience ... the crowd was of course super-passionate as you would expect from this part of the world, singing and cheering, plus lots of fists regularly pumping the air in the team warcry. Pumas are one of the Mexico City teams, so the crowd was completely one sided ... maybe 1000 supporters of the opposing regional team, and 40,000+ for Pumas!

Afterwards we went out to a late lunch around 3pm (well normal time for Mexicans who start and end the day late!) with about ten of Kate and Rodo's friends to celebrate. Apart from understanding only a fraction of the conversation at the table, it was fun!

I'm off on my last jaunt tomorrow morning... to a place a couple of hours away called Taxco. I'll stay overnight then back here for another evening with Kate before flying out towards home on Wednesday.

Until I see you next, love Alison.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb