Entering the Elephant Kingdom!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
September 4th 2012
Published: September 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow, is all I can say for this blog. My first game drive on the second day of my African tour today ... I started out hoping we'd be fortunate enough to see elephants. In fact, we saw about 150, maybe more! It was absolutely incredible ... first we saw about ten right on the road in front of our safari vehicle. And then at the main waterhole we saw a herd of about 40 elephants come down to drink and bathe. After that, we just kept seeing more and more.

Added to that, we also saw about five types of antelope, giraffes, zebras, warthogs, buffalos and baboons. Way more wild animals than I ever dreamed I'd see in the space of 3 and a half hours! If every day of the tour is like this, it's going to be amazing. I'm going to have to do lots of editing of my photos ... I don't think any of you want to sit through hundreds of elephant photos!

The afternoon game drive ended at dusk with us driving through the African landscape as the sun went down in a beautiful sunset. Now I know why the sun is sometimes described as a red ball of fire. It was a big round red ball on the horizon which simply glowed ... photos just don't do it justice.

A magic day, and I'm glad after all that the camping safari Debbie and I were originally booked on got cancelled. Very nice to come back to the luxury of a beautiful lodge, lovely meal and hot shower. Besides which, we walked through the nearby campground today ... the toilet block has a big warning sign saying "Caution - Elephants and Hippos active at night"!!!? Give me my cabin thanks!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb