Viva Tacos!


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lago AtitlanLago AtitlanLago Atitlan

Beautiful big tree down by the lake...
Everyone better get warm and comfy, because here comes a pretty long update- spanning the past month and more....
I (sadly) left San Marcos on the Lake Atitlan after a full month of getting my Lunar jive on. I finished my month long meditaion course with 5 days of silence and 5 days of fasting- all I can say is it was INTENSE! I bid everyone farewell (not before taking some more photos for you all to peep at) and spent the night in the most shiesty hotel EVER in Panajachel before leaving in the morning to cross the border into Mexico and then on to San Christobal de las Casas. It was 9 hours alltogether, but at the border me and 3 other girls all heading to San Christobal were met by another man who was driving us the rest of the way and he took us in his shnazzy new Jetta- I must say I felt like the Queen.... I arrived in San Christobal about a week ago.
First things first- its FREEZING HERE. Like I need to wear two pairs of pants, socks, a tee-shirt, a long sleve shirt, a scarf and if I could actually
Lago AtitlanLago AtitlanLago Atitlan

Beautiful poisionous yet psyadellic flowers by our table at the meditation center...
use a beenie, I´d get one of those too! But San Christobal is a nice place to chill out, even though its a city, its on the smaller side, and I can walk everywhere. Lots of nice little coffee shops everywhere and a imaculatly clean central park with a super clean Zocalo in front of the church. I spent a few days here, and then took a 1st class (meaning comfy seats, TV with bad B rated movies playing and a bathroom, and direct too- not 3 zillion stops along the way) to Palenqe.
This is a Mayan ruins site about 5 hours through some windy mountains away from San Christobal. I spent the night out in the jungle- only a 20 minute walk to the ruins at a quiet jungly little place. The next morning I walked to the ruins (and was asked by several Mexican guys if I wanted mushrooms... I guess its the most fungus-y place in Mexico), and went in the back entrance and got to see some deserted parts of the ruins and some beautiful waterfalls. I realized as I was climbing deeper into the park why they were deserted- it was a HIKE
San ChristobalSan ChristobalSan Christobal

Real de Guadalupe- one of my favorite streets to walk down...
to get in there on some steep old stone stairs... I finished up, after climbing a few of the temples and went back to my little jungle hide-out and it started to POUR rain. And it rained and rained and rained (Josie, this was Hilo´s rain cousin). And rained until I left the next morning, back to San Christobal. I´ll probally spend a few days here enjoying the freezing wheather and then head to the state of Oaxaca (where all the recent riots and what-not happened) and go to the beach- I need a vacation from my vacation!
So this has been life, and I´ll try to keep better updated now that Im in a little more of civilization! But- uploading pictures is a pain in the ass here- so maybe one big post of photos at the end?
I love you all- talk soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

PalenquePalenque
Palenque

Humble little jungle hut- notice hammock fun!
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

Walking into the park- the waterfalls!
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

Walking into the park- the waterfalls!
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

Deserted ruins...
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

The Palace- I climbed it!
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

The Palace- the interior
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

some unclimbable thing...
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

In the Museo...
PalenquePalenque
Palenque

In the Museo... a preserved mask


13th February 2007

Pics
Great Photos! Well worth the wait! Was the waterfall in the park really purple-ish looking, or just the way it came out? Did you have to share the little hut in the jungle? Outhouse? Lv Mums

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb