Why are you here and where are you going?


Advertisement
Published: January 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

San Salvador, El SalvadorSan Salvador, El SalvadorSan Salvador, El Salvador

Sunrise over the city, the morning I left for Guatemala
So, its been a long time folks. Sorry for the delay, I have no excuse except Im in Central America.... Which means the following- Sometimes the power goes out, everyday. Sometimes I forget. Sometimes Im eating, or sleeping, or at the lake, or running around. Sometimes Im knee deep in a serious yoga-meditation retreat and its just not in the cards!
But here I am, all bask in the glory of this summerized update.
Before New Years, I got on a bus that drove stright through Honduras, into El Salvador where I stayed the night. Next morning, stright for Guatemala City. Where I spent all of 40 minutes in. Stright to Antigua. Where I spent one night, and went to El Hato- a small village about 40 minutes into the mountains from Antigua. Had a FAB U LUS New Years. Including but not limited to- a four course dinner (thats right ladies and germs, count em FOUR COURSES). Fire works down in the vally of 3 different cities (Anituga included) and our own special brand of a fire works show. New years day took the back of a truck to Antigua and then booked a shuttle to Panajachel (biggest town on the lake). It rained like hell the whole way there, one girl continued to vomit most of the time (too much New Years fun?), and it took one hour longer than usual. From Pana I jumped in a lancha (small ferry boat) and jetted to San Marcos- which is what is claiming my soul as I write this.
In San Marcos, Im staying at a yoga meditation center called Las Piramides. Everything is built into the shape of a piramid. Even the sauna. So Ive been doing yoga twice a day for the past week, meditation (its wayyyyyyyy harder than I thought... try sitting for 15 minutes, just breathing, not moving, not talking, not thinking. Breathing...) and going around town on the series of maze like paths everywhere. Im spending the next month here, doing a course. Ill be certified hippy, or spiritual something or another once Im done. Food here rocks my world. Today, I bought two vegitarian tamales wrapped in banana leaves for 50 cents! This morning for breakfast, a huge pineapple and two bananas for 65 cents. AWESOME. Theres a great burrito place that uses eveything fresh outa the garden... MMMMMM... Last night, pizza and music. Pizza Music. Latin chill jam music. Really really great. Two girls I met from Boulder, CO left today to... Tikal?
I hope all is well where ever any of you may be, mentally or emotionally, or spiritually even! Much Love and all that warm-in-your-heart shit.


Advertisement



5th January 2007

Wowser City
Great update! Thanks. Love the picture down at the dock. Just returned from massage-great Mothers day present! Wet and blustery in Tucson right now. Guess it might mean winter....Love you-hugs too Mums the word 1/8/07 First day of school, and Mo's b-day. Gave him the gift today.....
5th January 2007

Beautiful pictures...WOW.
10th January 2007

jealous
I love the pic with the flowers...you are such a rad photographer! It's funny that most of the places you are visiting are the coffees that I sell at the shop. Lago Atitlan... did you just say "tit"? Sllluttt.
6th February 2007

WHERE THE HELL ARE YOU!?!?!
You do realize its been a MONTH since we've heard from you!!! HELLO!!?? Where the fuck did you disappear to now? I wanna see the pictures girl! Remember, Im living vicariously through you so i need a fucking update! MISS YOU TONS GIRL!! Love and hugs, Sarah
19th February 2007

2/18/07......feelin' your pain
Hey Eryn..............have been checkin out your site...............looks groovey.......Steve thinks you won't know what that means.....but I know you will...............am eager to hear about all your yoga wisdom and stuff like that....we miss you a bunch....well, gotta go stuff myself at family dinner. We love you bunches and will love hearing all your tales of travel. Love, Aunt Linda

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb