Boca de Alamo Cave Paintings


Advertisement
Published: May 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took a spontaneous hike up to the Boca de Alamo cave painting site about 18 miles north of here with my friend, Sherita, her neighbor, Marta and a couple of young gals from La Paz who are staying w/ Marta. My friend, Sherita, is a huge fan of the Baja cave paintings and has taken many treks to see the various glyphs made by some of the first inhabitants of the Baja Peninsula. I have seen photos of the different places but had no clue of how to get to them. It was a rough ride down the arroyo but the hike was definitely worth it. I was so thrilled to see my first cave paintings and hope to see more of them next year as Sherita has promised that we will take some hikes! This place is basically an "unknown" to anyone unless you learn about it from a local.

On the way back we stopped at a very old ranch where Sherita wanted to visit w/ the gentleman who took her on a recent cave hike. Here he lived with his mother and family on the edge of the arroyo in a humble little palapa home. The
Hands!Hands!Hands!

This seems to appear in many of the glyphs
"porch" under the palapa housed the bedroom right there! The "lady" of the house and the other ladies came out to see the gringa visitors. The older lady makes rag rugs out of these heavier plastic bags and strips of fabric. She then sells them. She is also very talented as an embroiderer and lace maker! She was thrilled by our attention. I can't wait to learn more about where all these cool ranches are! Sure makes you feel like you have stepped back in time about 50 years. They communicate with one another via CB radios!

So 2 blogs in one day....What can I say????


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Yet anotherYet another
Yet another

So darned cool!
Ranch house on edgeRanch house on edge
Ranch house on edge

The hosts offered us chairs as we strangers approached their home.


4th May 2010

WOW
COOL CAVES AND PAINTINGS. ALSO THE STORY ABOUT THE MEXICAN FOLKS WAS VERY INTERESTING. SO MUCH CULTURE.
4th May 2010

So much to see......
You're really seeing and doing so much, when are you going to just pack up and move there permanently?? I think you would like to???
4th May 2010

Cool!
Those drawings were so cool. I think your people are better drawers than our Natives!!!!!! I forgot to tell you that my next door neighbor Mark died. I am sad. I couldn't quit crying!!! I love that the people let you into their house (palapa) That senora did some beautiful work. You could tell how proud she was!!! Very beautiful. Enjoy your last days! Love, Sue

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb