Back Home !!! (Lou this time)


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
September 2nd 2006
Published: September 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Ice Fields (Di)The Ice Fields (Di)The Ice Fields (Di)

Someone told us you didn't need a coat - you did!!!!!!
Hi!

As Mum has done her back home update, now it's my turn. Wow..... what an amazing time and the memories will last for ever (if not I have around 900 photos to remind me!!!)

Canada is definitely a place I would love to visit again but spending a bit longer in the places I liked most - living out of a suitcase is not ideal (will probably sound quite bizarre to any back packers who read this!!)

Hard to pick favourites as each place we went to was very different. I'd like to spend more time in all the places we visited but especially Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver/Victoria. We didn't really have enough time on Vancouver Island to explore but would like to if I ever go back. Oh and I would stay till I saw a real (live) bear!!!!!

Think my favourite bits were Niagara - you really have to go there to believe the power of the water going over the falls. When you stand at the top you feel strangely drawn to stupidly wonder what it would be like to go over yourself!!! (Not a good idea!)

The whale watching in Victoria
Glacier 2Glacier 2Glacier 2

The blue colour in the ice was quite stunning
Vancouver Island was another highlight - we didn't see bears on our trip but loads off Orcas and a rare Sea Otter!

Another favourite was all of the Rockies, the glacier just south of Jasper, Moraine Lake and especially the white water rafting trip - something I have always wanted to do.

As already mentioned, we met some very nice people Major Vander Lee, Kim & Otto and our fellow Rocky Mountaineers including James who taught us a new way of remembering the order of planets!

Lets not forget the real reason for going - the memorial of my Great Uncle Geoff. I think Gran would have been proud of us and it's just a shame she didn't get to go when she was alive. Living in the Lake District all her life, I'm sure she would have loved the scenery of the Rockies. It was strange visiting places knowing he'd been there and wondering how he'd felt (other than what we know from his letters to Gran.)

There are still some unanswered questions but we now have more of an idea where to look and are hoping to eventually get a website together with things
After raftingAfter raftingAfter rafting

The clothes weren't flattering but we really enjoyed the trip!!! See the hill behind that we all brought the raft up at the end!
we have found out.

We also met the lady my Gran was maid of honour for called Joyce, and I don't think any of us could believe it - the world sure is a small place nowadays.

Well better go now - I have included my pick of some of my photos and hope you enjoy them!!

Lou xxx






Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

HoodoosHoodoos
Hoodoos

The First Nation believed these were men turned to stone -apparently moose gather in the river below but we didn't see any!!!!
Moraine LakeMoraine Lake
Moraine Lake

Stunning place
Our fellow travellersOur fellow travellers
Our fellow travellers

Lots of laughs with these guys (especially fighting our corner for photos!!)
Whale WatchingWhale Watching
Whale Watching

Will get the right lens (Martin!!) if we go again - amazing!


Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb