First week in Calgary


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
November 16th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

16 November 2010
I’ve been in Calgary for a week now and its and what a week it’s been.
So I leave Van on a stormy day so unfortunately I didn’t get a view on the plane till about half way over the Rockies but man what a view when I did get to see it!! Was very reminiscent of the Southern Alps just far more vast.
And then we reach the other side Calgary and it is a clear -1degree view of wide open flatness as far as the eye can see one way and huge mountains on the other it was an amazing sight.
So we land on Calgary airport and as we are taxiing to the terminal I see a family of coyotes (Small wolves) living on one of the small grass islands in the middle of the Runway!
So my first week has been about discovering this new city I will be living in as well as sorting boring stuff like IRD number (they call them SIN) and bank accounts.
But some of touring done has been by complete accident when Me, Mike and Sophie hopped on the wrong bus and ended up doing a 2.5hour tour of Calgary into some areas we would rather have not gone in but we did see the largest mall in Calgary with about 350shops plus movie theatre etc... and it was enormous.
So luckily I’ve just brought a blow up bed so no more sleeping on the floor for me and last night it snowed about 35cm over night and is still going now the snow is crazy dry here and so soft it’s like a pillow I am totally shocked I mean people tell you the powder is amazing but you truly don’t know till everything around you is covered in it and you see cars struggling to get up the hills hahaha


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb