The Time Has Come!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada
December 23rd 2010
Published: December 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"Angus and Julia Stone - The Devils Tears"
"Angus and Julia Stone - Yellow Brick Road"
"Jack Johnson - Spring Wind"

Mathematically nature favors the well-spirited!

So, the time has come at last.
Several months of planning and preparing has lead me to where I find myself now. A paradoxical state of calm readiness and trembling terror! I could ask what I have gotten myself into. But I wont, what would be the point? Ill be asking myself that a thousand times through out my journey. I have a clear vision of trying to hitchhike on the Carretera Austral in Chile. With the wind whipping by, sleet, rain and gray clouds my only company. Cold, wet, hungry, exhausted, cursing to the sky! Well, I guess I'll wait to ask what I have gotten myself into when I realize that clear vision of what could only be described as.... bliss! I mean, if I am going to be cold, wet, hungry, exhausted and miserable, then it might as well be deep in the Patagonia. It could just as easily be me walking to work anywhere in Canada during winter before I have had breakfast. Ill take misery in South America! But it wont be misery; rather, it will be exciting, liberating, peaceful, tranquil, educational, and make a great story! All those things and so much more. Plus, it will give me the opportunity to use all my gear that I've been collecting. Now THAT is exciting!




My greatest surprise so far is the overwhelming support from the global backpacking and travel community. So many people have helped me to prepare for my trip. The nicest surprise of all has been the support of the locals from where I plan to travel to. Most of which are from Chile and several from Argentina. I will be starting out in Chile and spending most of my time there. And I have had so much help from the people that live there. I have been invited to join a New Years party and then offered a place to stay after. I have been invited out for drinks and a tour of Santiago. I have been offered Spanish lessons and even guides for glacier hiking. I can see already that the people in Chile will help me out in anyway they can. They have tremendous pride in their country.


I have gone over my packing list again and again making sure I have everything I need and nothing more. So now it is time to pack it all up and put Canada in my rear view!

In a few days, my trip will officially begin. I guess, in some ways, it already has. Mentally preparing and all the planning involved could be described as epic! But when I land in Santiago and I am greeted at my hostel by my good friend Andrew, and a bunch of other backpackers I will feel a rush of stress free air so to speak. A terrible and hard 1.5 years will be behind me and I will start a new chapter of my life. A chapter filled with hope, renewal, adventure and healing.

I am ready to go!


Advertisement



25th December 2010

GO FOR IT TIM!
Tim - I'm so excited for you - what an adventure you are beginning - your Mom will be with you at every twist and turn, and she will be so proud of you for stepping outside your natural comfort zone. Take good care - I will be following your footsteps, a bit anxiously but happily. Happy New Year. Love you Lots, Auntie Sherry
26th December 2010

Goodluck and enjoy!
Tim, I wish you all the best luck in weather, hitch-hiking, hiking up glaciers and finding a place to sleep each night!!! You will be more courageous than you knew was in you! It's been great knowing you this past year in otherwise hard times but I just wanted to let you know one more time, YOU AWESOME!!

Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 83; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb