June 26, 09


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan
June 26th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 26. 10,149Km
For the second day in a row I woke up at 4:30 and had a rough time getting back to sleep. It's quite light this far North that early. Just like it is at 10pm. I finally did fall asleep after a bit.
After fueling up and getting a few groceries in Prince Albert I headed South toward Saskatoon hoping I'd find a motorcycle part dealer to get a metric mirror adapter to replace the one I damaged loading up the bike this morning. My first stop was on the edge of town at a truck stop. Unfortunately most of the yellow pages were missing from the pay phone. After a couple failed attempts joining an open wireless network in the area I found one at a hotel and searched from their parking lot. I found a bike shop in the North end where I was and called. No answer but they were only 5Km away so I drove over. He had nothing but pointed me in the direction of another place nearby that did.
After confirming with the kid behind the counter that I did not want the kit for Yamaha because they have one right and one left hand thread I was on my way again.
I jumped on HWY 16, the Trans Canada, and headed North West toward 'The Battlefords' as the signs called them and continued on to Lloydminster. Somewhere in between I was having a hard time keeping my eyes open so I stopped and made a sandwich that got me the rest of the way. I stopped at the Info Centre and got an Albert map and camping guide before driving into the city. I had programmed the address into the GPS the night before so finding the campsite was a no brainer. Once set up I took the mirror off the bike to change the adapter. Guess what? Fortunately I only needed one.
The campground is still in Saskatchewan so I got on the bike and rode to Alberta so I was sure I had some good Alberta beef for dinner. I spotted some bikes parked in front of Original Joe's place so I went in and bellied up to the bar for a couple Pepsi's and a beef dip. The scenery was'nt bad either. Better than last night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Saskatoon ArenaSaskatoon Arena
Saskatoon Arena

it looks new or they are working on it
SaskatoonSaskatoon
Saskatoon

so where is all this flat land?


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb