June 25, 09


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 25. 9688Km.
Half way to Christmas.
Somewhere along the way the street lights went horizontal again.
I stayed off the Trans Canada Highway again today. No particular reason. I went North to Canora, across to Watson, up to Melford and across to Prince Albert. It was actually flatter in lower Manitoba around Winnipeg than anything I've seen since.
Many towns and some country intersections have the stereotypical grain elevators we have all seen in pictures. Some have town names on them, others the farm. The rail line runs along the road or more likely the other way around and in some places the empty bulk cars are there waiting. What else would the rail companies do with them this time of year.
I got settled early today so I had time to relax a bit before I rode into the City to have a look around. I picked up a camera case at Future Shop so I can take my camera with me on the bike instead of using my cell phone camera.
Before leaving camp I was looking on line for a pub for dinner. There was an Irish Pub listed on the main street but I never saw it. Instead I found the Belly Up Bar that happened to have wings on sale. They were good too.
I saw the CTV building while I was crusing around the city so I knew I'd at least get that channel when I got back to camp. CBC comes in good too so after watching as hour on Farah and Michael I got to see George on The Hour. I have seen it before this trip a few times but with CBC normally only being one of two stations I can get I have started to appreciate it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

prairiesprairies
prairies

these are the Saskatchewan flat lands?


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb