Signed, Sealed, Delivered


Advertisement
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I didn’t feel so good this morning. Sarah drug me out of bed to go work out. I’m glad she did, though I was exhausted and didn’t do too much. After showering, it took all of my energy to not crawl back into bed. (That’s the thing about Hampton Inns… they have the BEST beds and make getting up each morning quite a chore.) We got all packed up and hit the road… the way to lunch.

I needed to post something back to the States, and therefore needed a place to do so and to purchase stamps. That was interesting. In Canada, most pharmacies have post stations, or whatever, so we stopped there. The one we found didn’t, so he directed us to the UPS store. I told the man inside that I needed two stamps (just in case I need to mail something else) and he said, “Well, I sell them 10 to a sheet, at this price.” “Well what if I only want 2?” Then he told me I needed American stamps and asked if they’re 98 cents? No, and I have US stamps, can I use them? “I don’t know. Here, these are American stamps.” They say Canada on them. After several minutes of confused miscommunication, we figured out which stamps I needed and how much they were (I bought 6 to make it easier, since they’re 6 to a sheet) and everything. Apparently in Canada, they have special stamps for posting things to America, which say Canada and are 98 cents. Then came the issue of payment. Can I pay you an American 20 and get Canadian change? “I don’t know.” He asked the boss, and yes, they figured out how I could give them American money and get Canadian change. Fantastic! My mail got posted and I now have Monopoly money to play with.

I slept the entire drive to Prince Edward Island, right up until we pulled into the parking lot at the hotel. I hear it’s a very beautiful place and there was a 6-mile bridge over water to get here. Maybe I’ll see it next time…

I continued my nap in the hotel room, and Sarah brought me dinner before she left with the children to eat. When I woke up, I did a bit of reading and emailing and things. Then Kyle came in to invite us down to the hot tub. I didn’t want to be wet but joined them near the tub as Sarah and Kyle enjoyed the warmth.

Sarah and I went down to Prossy’s room and chatted with her for a while about Uganda. Jordan came in, and then Victor. I love their stories.

Back to work tomorrow! I had forgotten until today that we’re actually traveling to do shows, rather than just roaming about the continent aimlessly. I hope I remember everything I’m supposed to do! I have a feeling it includes lots of grommets…

Advertisement



Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb