Prince Edward County


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
June 6th 2017
Published: June 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I woke to the sound of the river outside my window, peeked out and saw it was not only the river that was making the noise nut the rain ? However a bit if rain does not deter the hardy traveller, so after my smoked salmon and cream cheese bagel, I set off for my days sightseein. Suzie my host gave me different rainy day ideas, the first being a giant antique emporium. So off I drove and found it easily with the aid of my sat nav, my confidence in driving was growing, so much so that I had the radio on and even sang along ?

The aforementioned emporium was indeed giant, and it was lovely strolling through, I particularly liked the old furniture, but thought it might be a bit tricky to fit in my suitcase, so I settled on 2 dangly crystal suncatcher, far easier to smuggle home.

Next stop was "The Lake on the mountain" which is indeed just that, a lake that is 200ft above sea level, up a mountain. It was piddling down so I had a quick look and thought it would have been spectacular in the dry. Then I drove to Picton the main town on the island, which is a cute place, lots of moochy independant shops, from which I may have purchased a few prescents ? For my nearest and dearest ?. I found a sweet little cafe called Lilly's which served great soup, and ok .....yes a big peice of cake too.

A couple of things I've noted here, firstly they serve their food warm to hot, rather than piping hot as at home. My girls will tell how stressed I get if my roasts or god forbid my Christmas dinner is not piping hot ?. So maybe I should be more North American when I'm cooking, and save my nerves ! The second thing I've noticed is that the Canadians really are extremely friendly and polite, every shop assistant greets you with a smile and a "hi, how are you today?" And they want to know where I'm from, where I'm going to, and for how long ............ on second thoughts maybe they're undercover for immigration ?

After my cafe break, I drove to the next town which is Bloomfield. It's very small but the cutest place with picture book houses. It was still raining so indoor activities prevailed, i.e. More shopping ? I bought me a fab holiday watch, and a pretty necklace. It was on shop 6 that I finally managed to get a fridge magnet .......... That shows how untacky their gift shops are ...... no fridge magnets ?‍♀️ What's that all about. By now it was 5pm and time to head back home, still raining by the way. However I'm really enjoying the driving now, by the way why do we drive manual cars in the UK ? ...... it's far simpler to drive an automatic.

When I get home, Jerry and Suzie are both in the kitchen, and I'm invited to eat supper with them, today it's spaghetti and veggie sauce. Before it's served I'm treated to watching their wildlife with the biggest binoculars ever, it's a workout just lifting them up ??

Anyway I check out the Geese and their goslings, Red Patch Black birds, and best of all a beautiful Herron, that is obviously going on a hot date, as he sits there preening himself for about 20 mins, I hope she (or he) is worth it ?. As well as Jerry and Suzie there is Kitty the love bird and Sassy the cat Living here.Kitty spends most of her time sitting on Suzie shoulder, or asleep in her hand, one of her fav treats is spaghett, and she was nibbling away at a huge strand tonight ?. This morning Imsaw what Inthought was the biggest insect ever or the smallest bird ever, turns out it was the smallest bird ever .....a humming bird. There are turtles ? here the size of a car wheel but alas I haven't seen any yet.

Good news Tomorrow is going to be ☀️?☀️?☀️? yippppeeeeee.

Advertisement



9th June 2017

You can take the Anderson out of the UK......
Hi mum!! Sounds amaaaazing!!! Love that you are having bagels with cream cheese (hence my title!) Impressed that you're driving confidently but not surprised- you are my confident, well travelled mum after all. Photos look fab!! All good at home (except we have no government!) GG is good and very excited to hear all your news when you get back. Will try face timing again when we see her after the weekend. Love you lots xxxxxxx
10th June 2017

ate your lemon tart
Hope you had a great day in Ottawa!

Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb