Pending departure


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
January 9th 2010
Published: January 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke to a temperature of -24C on the thermometer by the front door, to bright sunshine bouncing off yesterday’s snow, and a sense of wonder that after “two more sleeps” I’ll be bound for summer in Kenya. Tomorrow, I take VIA to Toronto and on Monday I board KLM Flt 692 for Amsterdam (departing Pearson at 5:55 p.m.) and then Flt 565 for Nairobi (arriving at 8:25 p.m. on the 12th, having lost 8 hours because I’m travelling eastward). My host will meet me at the airport. I’m uncertain of how frequently I’ll have access to the Internet, but when I do, I’ll send notes and a few photos so you can share my adventure. Then on Feb 9, I return on Flt 4140 and Flt 695, arriving at Pearson at 8:35 p.m. on the same date (having regained the 8 hours I lost travelling eastward). I’ll be taking VIA home on Feb 10. This is my final “test” posting. The next time you receive a notice in your inboxes, it should be from Africa. Imagine!

Advertisement



9th January 2010

My Grandma is a traveller
That sounds like a lot of fun. I'd expect a big wait for the Amsterdam flight, on account of the recent problems. Have fun!
9th January 2010

POETRY
You have a poetic eye, as well as a poetic soul. Hope some poetry comes out this new adventure. Will be very surprised if it doesn't...after your return, when you've had time to reflect, if not before.
10th January 2010

best
Kathryn I did not realize it was this close , all the best and will think of you the whole time the adventure and the safety , hope you can let us know on a regular basis , love you sister
12th January 2010

Bon Voyage
You'll have your feet on the ground in Africa soon! Thinking of you and wishing I was there with you - it's up to -4 but more snow last night. Full winter gear on the way to work this morning :-)

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb