Pukaskwa National Park


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
September 7th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rocks and trees!Rocks and trees!Rocks and trees!

My favourite
The sun is setting, quiet night noises, a end of perfect day.

Got up early, wasn't sure if it was Central Time or Eastern Time (Decided to go Eastern, because I was going to be driving into it sooner than later). Enjoyed the quietness and the warmth of the morning. Woke up to Otis wagging his tail against the tent and getting wet! Morning dew on the tent.

Got on the road around 11, and tried to find where I was to pay for my campsite...the places I tried, were all closed, so drove on...

I love the drive along the north shore of Lake Superior...the day was perfect. sunny and warm. Pulled off outside Rossport for a rest and Lake Superior was right there! Otis and I hiked over the rocks and found a quiet place to rest. The sun felt heavenly. Got back and stopped at some falls...beautiful.

Saw the sign for Pukaskwa Park and thought to myself, "that's where I want to stop for the night." Drove and the next thing I'm pulling into the campgrounds, self registered this time. Found a campsite, set up, cooked supper, enjoying a beer from Half Pints, took a hike to the shore....and it was absolutely peaceful. Just the waves rolling in quietly. (the water was extremely calm). I knew I made the right choice by stopping early today. I needed the peacefulness of the lake and the absolute silence. To celebrate what I have accomplished and what I set out to do on this trip....drive to Yellowknife...take in something new everyday, hike or walk, paint a picture from my head, and to drive, keep up my blogs, write in my journal everyday and to make sure Otis had a good time (lots of walks/hikes, he is now a rock climbing, canoe, car driving dog, you know). So, tonight I took a moment to celebrate and enjoy the sunset over the lake! So cheers to Otis and I.... WE DID IT!!!

Now, early to bed...a lot of driving tomorrow. I promised Otis he will sleep in our apartment tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

OtisOtis
Otis

just taking in the wind and the sun!
the beachthe beach
the beach

Lake Superior and so calm tonight
The beachThe beach
The beach

Drift wood
The sunsetThe sunset
The sunset

The calm Lake Superior


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb