Winnipeg into Ontario


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Atikokan
September 4th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got caught up with some blogs, and now back on the road to Winnipeg! First stop Half Pints Brewery Company. My friend Richard wanted me to check it out, and I'm glad I did! It was a real treat! Locally owned. Husband was a home brewer, the passion took over and the wife is an accountant! (Nicole is the one who gave me the tour and their story). Their market is Western Canada, with one place in Toronto (which I now have to find!). (By the way, the beer is great, I have been enjoying the beer over the last couple of days).

Drove downtown and walked along the river to the Forks and parked right in front of the Provincial Legislation building.

Crossed into Ontario today! Very melancholy for me....my adventure to Yellowknife is just about finished and what a trip it has been! Part of me wants to drive straight home, while the other part of me, just wants to take my time! I do love Ontario North....

Not really knowing Quentico Park...looks more like a backpack, canoe park...I drove into the park tonight (at least 25 kms in and then out again), and discovered it was for a boat launch. The drive was beautiful, almost felt like I was in the Northwest Territories again...Found myself in other self serve camp site in Atikokan. This campsite has running water and flush toliets! Bonus.

Set the tent up in the full moon light! Had a quick bite to eat before falling asleep!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Half Pints BreweryHalf Pints Brewery
Half Pints Brewery

the hops (loved the smell),
WinnipegWinnipeg
Winnipeg

the boy on top!
OtisOtis
Otis

swimming or drinking?
The train StationThe train Station
The train Station

when we immigrated to Canada in December, we got off the train in Winnipeg to make Snow angels! This picture is for Lisa! Remember?
AtikokanAtikokan
Atikokan

Our campsite...loved the grass! Best sleep!


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb