July 31, 2009


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Woodstock
July 31st 2009
Published: August 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 61 18,163Km
As far as the clock was concerned I had no rush ahead of me today, however with an over height vehicle you cannot make a reservation on the ferry to Tobermory so the sooner I got there the better chance I had of getting on. This was basically the last day of driving so instead of peanut butter I had a bacon sandwich for breakfast. Not real bacon but the precooked boxed stuff. It's OK in a rush.
I fueled up in Sault Ste Marie and headed to Espanola where I called the reservation line to see how booked up the ferry was at that point. If it was already fairly full I was'nt going to bother driving the hour and a half to the dock to either turn around of wait five hours for the next crossing. The voice on the phone said it was not too bad so I took the risk. As I was driving South on Manitoulin Island I was thinking this would be a nice place to ride. I thought about seeing if I could find a campsite for the night even though it was a long weekend. I stopped again in Little Current to top up on fuel so when I got to the other side I could just drive. Once I left Little Current the roads got real choppy. Frost heaves with cracked pavement. Not bad in a truck or car but I second guessed my thought about riding here. It would be tough on the back after awhile. There was no problem when I reached the dock in South Baymouth. They measured me, took my money and I was in line... with close to four hours to kill. Nap time!
When I got out of the truck a while later there were many more cars waiting but we all got on. Being a long weekend I'm sure the most traffic would be coming North, not South.
Highway six from Tobermory is an old single lane road with few places to pass and the traffic was barely doing the speed limit. Most times I would'nt care but I called my parents and told them I was coming and would be there around 2300hrs. I did'nt want them to have to stay up later than necessary so when I reached Alvanley I continued South on road 10 while almost everybody else went East on Hwy six. In the end I don't know if this was a good decision or not because of all the little towns along the way but none the less I made it to Woodstock.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

turbinesturbines
turbines

Glen Estil's turbines in Lions Head


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb