Lake Gitchegumee


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
July 4th 2021
Published: July 5th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 3. 1519Km.

Knowing I had a long drive today I was up early and on the road by seven. Unlike the night before I had fuel’d up before I stopped so there were no delays. The drive across the top of Superior is… long. That’s true but it’s pretty too. Lots of rock cuts, elevation changes and of course Lake Superior popping out of the trees on occasion. This marks the third time I’ve done it. Twice from the East and until I return, only once from the West. A few years ago I drove all the way around but without camping. I forgot about the fact that all you see in the North is evergreen trees, and mostly small ones at that.

After I had set up camp I saw a van I recognized from last night. I followed it out of the campground this morning and here they are in the same place again. Funny coincidence. I had to ask if I was going to see them tomorrow night but they are changing direction.

In December 2005 I got my first Sirius satellite radio in anticipation of Howard Stern coming on air in January but this isn’t about him. On a long distance road trip it’s so nice to not have to hunt for radio stations as you change coverage areas. I doubt there is much broadcasting up here except maybe the CBC. I digress. The Classic Vinyl Chanel has been playing a subscriber submitted Top 400 greatest classic rock songs list all weekend since it’s the Fourth of July. Surprisingly Stairway To Heaven got dethroned from the number one spot this years by Hotel California!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.2243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb