The Soo


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 2. 839Km. I don’t remember if I calculated the overall fuel mileage the Dodge gave me in 2009 but the Jeep sure drinks the diesel while pulling the trailer. I’ve seen an all time high of 1200Km per tank on a solo trip without the trailer but so far I’m getting about 400Km per tank so I’m guessing about $2000 for fuel this trip. Oh well, vacations aren’t cheap. I broke camp in good time this morning but lost a bit of time doubling back for fuel in Orillia because the station I went to had an issue with the pumps not working. The rock cuts in the Canadian Shield heading up hwy 69 toward Sudbury are something to see. The road is under continuous expansion as they widen it to four lanes so there are new cuts from the last time I was this far North.

My electric cooler I bought when I started trucking 13 years ago didn’t want to run today. It’s the first time I tried it in a while and I’ve noticed the heat/cool selector switch was getting touchy so I opened it up and there was so much dust and cob webs or possibly dog hair in the fan that I don’t think it could spin. After cleaning it out and spraying some contact cleaner in the switch it fired right up. Shoutout to Mobicool!

I read several comments by people on camping related Facebook post about how nice the KOA in The Soo is. It’s nice but I’m not that impressed. I had my customary camping dinner of steak, salad and rice tonight and now it’s time to make a fire.

Update. I went and looked at my last post from 2009 and I did in fact calculate the fuel milage of the total trip. The Dodge with the 5.9L Cummins diesel used 18.6L/100Km. I don’t remember what the weight of that trailer was but this one is a couple feet longer and more than likely heavier. The Jeep Grand Cherokee has the 3.0L eco diesel and so far is using a bit over 22L/100Km. We’ll see if the prairies improve that before I hit the mountains.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb