Update


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
February 28th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's been a little while since I've posted.

Things are going well with my jobs. Yes, I am still working 5 of them. I did stop working youth drop in, but replaced that job with another dance teaching position at Impact Movement Studios Inc. in downtown Kitchener (www.impactmovement.ca). I am the chair dance teacher. Yes, that's right. I teach sexy dance routines on a chair to adults. It's a riot. The ladies are always a hoot, and it's fun, flirty fitness.

My other 2 dance jobs are still going well, as well. As is Kumon Learning Centre.

The job at Summit Learning Centres is going well too. I am learning so much and really developing my business skills; skills I didn't know I had. I've started full-time hours, which is great for the paycheck. I spend my mornings doing labour market research, making phone calls to businesses, and creating bulletins to share my findings. In the afternoons, I am teaching my 3 students. I've had an interview with a recruiter for a possible workplace trial for one of my students, and managed to get my student an interview at one of Cambridge's top trucking companies (I did have a little help from my regional supervisor... lol) I am getting constant feedback about how impressed they are with the job that I am doing, and I finally feel like I know what I'm doing, constantly "switching my hats".

As for September, I have started looking for work abroad again. I have just felt very antsy lately, and itching to be traveling again. I can not express the satisfaction of exploring new opportunities in a foreign place. This time around, I am sticking to American/International Schools, as they require their teachers to have their teaching certificates, and therefore the pay is a little more.

So far, there are 4 leading options for me:
1) SPAIN - teaching at a primary school in Vigo (Northwest Coast). They are interested in me as the music teacher. I'd be teaching ages 3-6, which would more or less be singing camp songs with actions, making instruments, and dancing to music.
2) HONDURAS - teaching at a school in the capital. I LOVE everything about this school EXCEPT for the pay. Although twice as much as I was making when in Honduras last time, I'm still not sure it is enough to pay off my debts.
3) UK - apparently with my Nana being born in England, I am eligible for an Ancestry Working Visa (5 years). There is a recruiting company in Toronto that hires teachers for schools in the UK, with equivalent salaries to teachers in Canada.
4) UGANDA, Africa - teaching at an international school - great pay, free accommodations, and access to school-owned country club with pool, tennis courts, and gym. 2 year contract.

Right now I am gunning for Spain but we'll see how things work out. I don't want to count my eggs before they hatch. It's only been about a week since I've started looking, so it's still early. I'll let you know once developments have been made. Regardless, I think I am going abroad next year.

OH!!!! Great Big Theatre Company is now working on their 3rd cast for that show I was supposed to do. Apparently the 2nd cast had it worse than we did and a contract was involved so there's also a legal battle. WHEW! Glad I got out when I did. How does someone not realize THEY'RE the problem when history repeats itself?! Crazy.

Advertisement



29th February 2008

UGANDA
GO TO UGANDA. thats all ps. GBTC= haha.
29th February 2008

Hi Sarah...glad to hear that things are going well. I'm not surprised that you're looking at travel again. It's like dancing or performing....once you start you can't stop! Spain sounds great...teaching music all day to little kids....!!!....that has "Sarah" written all over it. Good luck and let us know where you end up!
1st March 2008

Hey Sarah!!! #1 I miss you! #2 it sounds like you are super busy with your jobs, but that you are doing really well! I'm really glad to hear that :) I can't wait to hear more details about the school options for next year!!! Keep me posted hun and good luck with the search! :)
3rd March 2008

forget the teaching options and other stuff... tell us more about where you learned sexy chair dancing!?!?

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb