A Magical Christmas Wish


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
December 23rd 2007
Published: December 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sthephany and ISthephany and ISthephany and I

This photo was taken at last year's School Christmas Concert.
I've shared this story with a few friends and family, and decided that it may be worth it to share with all.

Just over a week ago, I received this e-mail:

Greetings,
I am a teacher this year at EBH. Today, I was subbing for the 4th grade class, and they wrote Dear Santa letters. One of the girls, Sthephany, asked only for a letter from you for Christmas to make her happy. I thought you would like to know that. If you wanted to e-mail me a letter or something, I could print it out and get it to her for Christmas. I thought it was sweet.
-Anna


I couldn't stop crying. To think that I had touched a student enough to have her only Christmas wish be a letter from me. Me?

I immediately wrote a letter, attached photos, and e-mailed it to Anna. I hadn't heard anything back for a couple days so I e-mailed her back, asking if she had given my letter to Sthephany.

She told me that Sthephany's mother had come to the school, picked up my letter, took it home, wrapped it, and it is now sitting under the tree for Sthephany to open on Christmas morning.

I guess it's true that you never know your full potential as a teacher, or the lasting impact that you may have on a student.

I miss Honduras lots. Moments like this make me wish I were back.

Update
As of January I'll be full time with Summit. Exciting news. Still keeping my other part time jobs, although I am giving up Youth Drop-In on Friday nights. Another night to myself will be nice to have back.

Merry Christmas everyone! May you enjoy all the reasons for the season!

Advertisement



24th December 2007

Wow Sarah! That is what the holidays are all about....thank you for sharing that with us!
8th January 2008

Sarah...you gave little Stephany an amazing Christmas gift....but she gave an even better one to you. What a truly special gift to receive....knowing that you have made such a huge impact on someone's life. Years from now when someone asks you to think of the best Christmas gift you ever received.....I think this one will be right up at the top! Congrats on the new job...sounds like its going very well. All the best to you.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb