Bruce Trail Hike - Day 10 - Snake Rd Burlington to 3450 Guelph Line Burlington


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Burlington
June 18th 2016
Published: June 21st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 10 of my hike. Today would be a hot day but thankfully it was a short hike at 15KM. I drove down to Snake Rd in Burlington. That road is named not because of the snakes that are prevalent but because the road is shaped kinda like of a snake.

There is a shoulder area next to the road that you can park your car. As I prepared for my hike I saw a group of mountain bikers heading down the trail. I was impressed they were trying that route because it was not only hot and humid but the trail is quite tricky even on foot. It is hard walking through hot and humid weather. I was sweating a lot even early on. The first 5km of the hike is a series of up and down hills. The hilly part of the trail ends when you end at a park near Mill St. The trail markers are missing in the park and I wander around a bit before realizing I had to go up some stairs and cross Mill St to get back on the trail.

The next 5km is fairly easy level hiking so I was making up so lost time. There is some road walking at this point and my favorite part is when I past by Flanders St (Simpsons Fan). The next tricky part was cross Dundas St Hwy 5. It is a busy 4 lane rd with no overpass for hikers. I timed my run carefully and ran across. I was close to the top of my hike at this point and there are some nice views of Burlington and you can clearly see the Skyway in the distance.

The last 5km of my hike I walked along the escarpment and I was really burning through water and I had to ration it because I had 4km of hiking to get to a bus stop to get back to my car. After 3.5 hours of hiking I exited the trail onto Guelph Line Rd. I saw there was parking along the side of the road so I noted the spot for my hike next week. Today was a good hike. It was very challenging because of the heat and humidity rather than the distance. After taking a few buses and 4 km of hiking I got back to my car. I had one more nice view before I reached my car when I saw a dear climb a ridge. It was impressive hike because I could see how steep the incline was. We had a nice moment where the deer locked eyes with me for a few minutes.

Total Hike 15.5KM 3.5 hours

Next week I continue my trek northward to Tobermory.

#IWILLFINDMYBEAR


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Evil TreeEvil Tree
Evil Tree

Somehow I thought this tree in the middle of a field was evil
Crossover StilesCrossover Stiles
Crossover Stiles

There were a lot of these Crossover Stiles on this trail


Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb