Cabot Trail, Nova Scotia, Canada - Cheticamp - Pleasant Bay


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Cape Breton » Cabot Trail
June 16th 2015
Published: June 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

My first of 3 days exploring the Cabot Trail. Left Cheticamp early morning and visited the information Centre of Cape Breton Highlands National Park. I purchased my pass, picked up a map and off I went. First stop Corny Brook Trail. An easy trail and after an hour you reach a lovely waterfall. Total time about 2 hrs 20 min including pictures. Next stop Fishing Cove trail It is described as a "steady descent to rugged coastline." Steady indeed! An elevation change of 1165 feet. Quite a demanding hike up as the first 45 minutes is this steady ascent! Needless to say I took my time, rested often, and had my share of water breaks. A sunny day, a bit cool, around 13 C but pleasant for a hike. The cove is small but worth the trip. The rest of the day I drove the Cabot Trail to Pleasant Bay, a quiet fishing village. After a seafood chowder (I have had better), I had a very nice lobster roll. Following a gorgeous sunset at Pleasant Bay beach, I headed back to my B&B for a well-deserved rest. I hope I can get up tomorrow as my back is not used to these long hikes. Tomorrow I will do Pleasant Bay to Cape North portions of the Cabot Trail and hopefully throw in Meat Cove as well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

DSCF0248DSCF0248
DSCF0248

Corny Brook Waterfall


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 16; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb