21 Days in Newfoundland - Day 4: Cape Spear Lighthouse Historic National Park, Blackhead Path, and Cape Spear Path


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Newfoundland & Labrador » St John's
September 9th 2017
Published: September 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I awoke to a rain warning which did not bode well for my planned trip to Cape Spear. Undaunted, I proceeded as I had to stand at the most easterly point in North America. There I visited the oldest surviving lighthouse in Newfoundland, although today it serves as an historic site as it ceased to function as a lighthouse in 1955. There is a more modern and functioning lighthouse in the area. After roaming around I looked for the two trails which crossed the sites boundaries - The Blackhead Path and Cape Spear Path; both part of the East Coast trail system. Although not an ideal day for hiking, I had to at least say I hiked a portion of both. So I found both trailheads and hiked about 1 km on each just to say I was there. Indeed, it was the first time I actually hiked carrying an umbrella. In total I spent about 3 hours at the site.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb