21 Days in Newfoundland - Day 15: Gros Morne National Park, Broom Point, Steve's Trail, Shoreline Trail, sandunes, and Coastal Trail


Advertisement
Published: September 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another good day in Newfoundland despite the constant threat of rain. I found three walking sticks at three different beaches (sorry Suzanne). I started the day off with a short 1 km trail - Steve's Trail. It led to a rocky beach where one could see examples of volcanic rock. I also launched a "message in a bottle" while there. Then off to Broom Point where one could walk around a seasonal fishing settlement. Fishermen fish for short periods of time with no permanent residence at the location. The day before while driving I noticed large stretches of sand and sand dunes which I wanted to visit. I found the Shoreline Trail and walked for about 10 minutes to large sand dunes and a long stretch of sandy beach. Imagine, sand dunes in Newfoundland. If it wasn't so foggy, overcast and misty I would have thought I was in PEI. The last activity of the day was to be a six km walk along the Coastal Trail. Although overcast when I left I was going to chance it. 38 minutes into the hike the heavens opened up. Although I persevered for a few minutes I quickly realized this was a good tine to turn around. I probably finished about half of the trail. I can imagine it to be a sweet trail in the summer as most of the trail follows the coast. As luck would have it, the rain stopped after about 15 minutes so I probably could have made it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 22; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb