21 Days in Newfoundland - Day 13/14: Gros Morne National Park, Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse, Green Point Geological Site, Cow Head Lighthouse Trail, and Arches Provincial Park


Advertisement
Published: September 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Left Twillingate for Gros Morne. After a five hour drive I took the rest of the day off. Today, despite the overcast weather and constant threat of drizzle, I had a busy day. First off was a visit to Lobster Cove Head Lighthouse. There I hiked three of the short trails, two of which had beach access. Then off to Green Point Geological site. I walked along the beach, looked at the rock walls apparently home of fossils. Further North, I hiked the Cow Head Lighthouse Trail, about 2 km in length. There was a beach access and one could see the unique limestone rocks associated with the area. My final stop was the Arches Provincial park, a very unique rock formation along the shore with three large arches carved out through erosion. Luckily, no drizzle at the time and it was low tide so I could scramble around and walk through the arches. More rain called for tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 22; qc: 103; dbt: 0.1544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb