Kouchibouguac national park


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick
September 15th 2021
Published: September 22nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at the coast. We slept in a small B&B, in Saint-Louis de Kent village, called Ancrage b&b. This is a wonderful place, comfortable and with very good breakfasts. Its a few minutes from the national park.

National park has a general flat topography, with forests, salt marshes, beaches, dunes, lagoons. It has many self-interpreted trails, (my favorite kind), showing the diversity of the region. Wildlife is abundant, especially birds. We saw many great herons, (sometimes 7-8 in the same view!!!), a great number of bald eagles, (which like to perch on high trees on shores of lagoons).

About herons, check this video showing one that is hunting:


We also went in a tour to observe seal colonies, (gray seals mainly). The forest is humid with lots of moss hanging from the trees.

A popular place in the park, is the trail to Kelly's beach. You start in the forest, then walk on very long boardwalks, that goes above lagoons. You then, climb the dune, and you are at the beach. Beach has fine pale sand, and is about 20km long, so plenty of space for all.

A definite good place for those who love nature. :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement







21st October 2021

Loved the pictures you posted of your travels
The pictures you posted are great in their diversity. I also enjoyed how you wrote about your trip and spoke bout the trails you found and traveled. Being so near to a national park is amazing. Your trip sounded like a great nature adventure. I am making a bucket list of places I hope to got to in the near future and New Brunswick is now on my list of places to go. Thank you for sharing your experience.
21st October 2021

Thanks Valerie :-)
30th October 2021
bald eagle

I'd love to see one myself
It would be cool to see a bals eagle myself one day. But I know so little about birds so I guess I would not be able to identify it if it happened. /Ake

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb