Day 4 - Game Day!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Winnipeg
June 8th 2015
Published: June 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Finally! We made it to game day. I have been waiting for this day for 3 months so you bet I was pumped! Since we didn't have anywhere to be until 3:00 we just checked out a little bit of Winnipeg and hung out at the hotel all day. Winnipeg didn't have much to offer but it was pretty interesting seeing the stores that were the same as the US as well as the ones that weren't. We also did a little people watching at the hotel while deciding if we wanted to take the shuttle or drive ourselves to the field. After seeing the line for the shuttle, we opted to drive ourselves, which ended up being much easier than we anticipated.

So we made it to the field about half way into the first game, Nigeria vs. Sweden. We caught the second half and I'm so glad we did. After being down 0-2 at the half, Nigeria came back and fought a tough half to end up tying 3-3, when they weren't expected to be much of a threat in our group. It was pretty awesome.

Anyway, on to the most important part, the US! It was incredible seeing the number of people that were there. It was so loud but amazing! It just so happened that we were literally in the very last row on the second level but luckily, since it wasn't a huge stadium it wasn't too bad. I took a ton of pictures, trying to get as close and zoomed in as possible without it being too blurry, mostly just during the warm-up. I was too busy enjoying the game to take many pictures throughout. For those of you that caught the game, you will know, it was a pretty good game. First half, not too exciting, but the US definitely stepped it up in the second half. I kept needing to pinch myself because I just couldn't believe we were actually at a World Cup game. It was so much fun, I wish we could do it again. Too bad the next two games are in Vancouver! Oh well, I will settle with watching it at home, I'm just happy I got the chance to have this experience. 😊

Tomorrow we begin our trek back home. We still haven't decided what we will be doing but I'm sure we will have a few more adventures on our way!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb