An Arctic Spring


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Manitoba » Churchill
July 17th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buggy BearBuggy BearBuggy Bear

For the July 1st (Canada Day) parade, I was voluntold by Lynda to get in a bear costume!
Hey there.
All is well in Churchill, and the summer is slowly coming. The sea ice is still lingering on the bay and the flowers are just starting to come into bloom. The polar bears are still at sea on their frozen hunting grounds, although there has been a few sneaky ones pass through town.
I got dressed up as a silly polar bear for the Canada Day (July 1st) parade, I was actually voluntold to do so, but I was keen to get dressed up anyway. I was probably the warmest person in town, as it was a chilly minus 3 degrees, and i was in a very warm and furry costume! It was such a laugh! The fireworks at midnight could barely be seen as the night is vanishingly short in June/July, but the bangs echoed across the frozen Hudson Bay and made a very haunting sound...
The frozen sea is absolutely breathtaking! Twice a day the tide smashes up the ice, sculpting it into weird and wonderful shapes, I've spent many hours just sitting on the rocks gazing out in awe.
But I don't always sit around! I have got work to do.

I am working
Buggy Bear and Baby BuggyBuggy Bear and Baby BuggyBuggy Bear and Baby Buggy

That's me inside that silly costume
for Tundra Buggy, guiding tours onto the tundra to view the Arctic wildlife, which is a lot of fun. When I'm not guiding, I work in the garage with George, Pat and Shayne, helping fix everything up for the coming bear season (October - November), as well as doing odd jobs in other aspects of the company.
There are about 3000 beluga whales in the mouth of the Churchill river, feeding on the capelin. It's a sight that has to be seen to be believed!
Dave.
P.S. We are still working on some of our Iceland and Greenland pictures so stay tuned..




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

On the town beachOn the town beach
On the town beach

Hudson Bay, frozen solid. July 1st
Canada Day fireworksCanada Day fireworks
Canada Day fireworks

Fireworks at midnight. Night time at this time of year is nothing more than a couple of hours of twilight.


20th July 2009

Look Way Up...Way Up North...and I'll Call...Dave (Rusty)
Hi Dave! Great to hear from you! Awesome pictures as usual! Theresa and I have arranged our "Rendezvous Times" in August when she flies up to see you! We'll stock her up with fresh veggies and fruit! Take care and don't eat yellow snow! Moe :)
20th July 2009

wow!
Beautiful pictures! Keep them coming! I spent the spring in Inuvik -- it went from -30 to +18 in 6wks...it was as if someone had decided to turn on the heat! Sarah.
23rd July 2009

Mooooooooeeeeeeeeee
Hi Moe, Good to hear from you too. veggies are indeed quite the commodity here. So much so that when a good batch arrive in town (like on monday some superb oranges came in) everyone went to the northern store within about 20 minutes. the bank closed and the post office was closed.. Everyone went to the Northern.. Except for me, so I didnt get any tasty, juicy, succulent, oranges..! mmmmm juicy oranges. mmmmm!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb