Are We There Yet...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
September 11th 2015
Published: September 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

YES! 14 days and counting. We are now feeling the momentum (subtle play on my blogs name) build. Euros - done. and with the dollar being as it is, we just donated almost half to the Bank! yeah look at us, being all supportive of our country. Passports are good to go, and suitcases lay at the ready, unzipped and waiting to be filled. Eager, yes. Excited, absolutely. The time passing is paradoxical at the moment as it is moving very quickly, and so slowly all at once. I am noticing however, that as the date approaches and the weeks are melting away like the last of the winters snow, so is my patience. I want to be more tolerant of things, like children leaving dishes in the sink, and towels on the floor, but alas, I am not and all I can do is state firmly (again) for them to clean up after themselves. Then, instead of counting to ten, I count the days till we fly away from household chores and responsibilities. Not sure how well this will work when I am only counting to 1 instead of 10 or more, but I will put myself on more timeouts and breathe...deeply...for extended periods of time...and try to not pass-out...

It has been a long stretch since I last had a holiday, and even longer for Jackie, so we are both anticipating the joy of stopping, while we are going. It is easy to get lost in life and the things that call our attention away from self. I look forward to not only connecting with Jackie, but also reconnecting with me. Taking in every moment and reminding myself there is so much more to life then work, bills, and stress about completing the days duties. I love my family, friends, and my job, and I am also understanding that loving myself means talking time away to regroup and refill. Not only physical health needs attention, but so does mental and emotional health. This lesson has become more and more important over the years and my appreciation and value I hold for these things has increased exponentially. I am better when I give myself attention, when there is balance. I have more to give and see life as less of a thing to get through, and more of thing to participate in, and it holds more joy. I am not sure when in my life I learned that giving oneself attention was somehow selfish, and I have had many long talks with friends about this as I am not alone in this belief. It has taken me a long time to understand on a deep level that taking care of myself was/is not only healthy and good, but necessary. It wasn't and isn't selfish at all, quite the contrary. It is grasping the concept that I am worth the care and attention I give others, and it allows me to give more when I succeed at doing it. The trick is finding balance in this and not going from one extreme to the other.

Ok, enough of the introspective self for now...back to the trip! I am thrilled that I get to experience this with someone who 'gets it'. Who holds value in similar things, who makes room for exploration and who stops to wonder with me. I can't wait to take in the world together. We are checking off our list, and adding to it as well. Oi Vey. I do love that this is all part of the journey. It is the process and it is as much a part of the trip as the trip itself for me. Sharing in this process and learning about each other is exciting and only adds to the enjoyment of it.

I love my moments!

Advertisement



16th September 2015

Moments...
Dont just love your moments..remember to live in them..it is after all where life happens..the rest is all before or after..gentle(hugs)...
20th September 2015

yes
you are so right my friend. good reminder!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb