Experience the Experience


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
September 20th 2015
Published: September 20th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Our last minute planning has began. Tickets have been checked, again. Partially because i just want to look at them and make sure it is really happening. The butterflies are starting to take flight a little bit more. Anticipation of meeting family and Jackie reconnecting with her loved ones. We are both anticipating much laughter, rest and joy as we experience new things together and for Jackie, sharing some familiar things with me. The rich history, culture, and of course food. I get to embark on a journey of discovery, not only of the countries, but also of her family and heritage. Every day I find myself imagining arriving at the airport, and after a leisurely stroll from the Fairmont hotel we are staying at, checking in our luggage and stepping onto plane. It is difficult to put into words the thoughts and feelings about this trip. Reflecting back almost 30 years (wow) to that moment when I knew I had to travel. I had to discover this world and all it's wonders. Not in a touristy way but in a way that let's me understand and see people. How their lives and cultures differ from mine. How they see the world around them. Also, to experience our similarities. Humankind has always fascinated me. Thousands of miles can separate us, and yet when it comes to the human experiences, there is no distance. Not to say there isn't a difference in how we experience internally our lives/worlds etc, but there is a commonality between us when it comes to emotions, like joy, love, sadness. How we manifest this is individual, but the emotion itself and be empathized with by one another. When we are open to it, we can find ways to relate to others beyond words. Although I love writing, I am also keenly aware how words can often get in the way. I am looking forward to connecting with people who don't speak my language just to embrace the challenge of finding ways to be understood, which is what most of us want isn't it? There are so many levels of anticipation for this next adventure. It seems packed full and yet at the same time, I have very little expectations, allowing me to just see what happens as the days unfold. I can't wait to experience my experience.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb