Im in heaven


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 7th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

room with a viewroom with a viewroom with a view

view from ryans balcony overlooking alta lake
Got up in the morning and had to drag myself out of bed. Another beautiful day as you can see from the photo taken from the balcony. Ryan came back home mid-morning with my new snowboard. I was so stoked. He dropped me into the village where i went to a cafe and had my favourite...bagel with cream cheese for breakfast. I went to the womens burton shop and splashed out on the old credit card. Bought new jackets, pants, thermals, goggles, gloves, socks, beanies. You name it, i bought it! Keeping in mind i already had all my own gear, but as most of it i had bought five years ago, i decided to splash out. Finally i could buy all the things i wanted in the one shop, after my previous unsucessfully attempts running around all over London with no such luck.

Met up with my friend Lafi at Showcase where he works. Luckily he had the day off, he helped set up and de-tuned my board for me. Then i was ready to hit the pow! Decided to go up Blackcomb with Lafi and one of his mates. Was so good to be back on the snow again. The weather was mint. Im in heaven up there. It is the one place where all your troubles are forgotten and you are at one with nature in awe of its beauty. Trees draped in snow, everyone chilling and having a good time.

After a few hours riding i took a bit of a nasty fall. I had been going quite fast then i don't know what happened but i ended up rag-dolling it!! Head over heels over head over heels. I felt my ankle twist but the pain wasn't too bad so continued riding. Once 4pm came around and the lifts were closing we headed down to the village and stopped into Cinnamon Bear for a nice cold one. Six hours later decided to call it a night, but not before stopping off at Shakespeares Pies for their famous meat pie. Still in my snowboarding gear, board in hand, caught the bus back to Ryans. Wasn't until i got back and took off my boots did i realise my ankle had disappeared. It was so puffy and swollen, so iced it up before going to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb