Back to paradise


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
February 6th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had bought new snowboarding boots and bindings from Dubai and had been desperately trying to track down the snowboard that i wanted. After having no luck looking on my recent flights to Europe i decided to get my friend Ryan (who i used to work with in Whistler) to get it for me through his work. My friend Nick went to Whistler on holiday a week ago and i was going to arrange for him to pick the board up for me to bring back to Dubai. But after talking to him on the phone and hearing how much fun he was having, i thought bugger it, im going to go and pick it up myself! So thats exactly what i did. I booked my ticket and the next morning i was leaving Dubai on the 7hr flight to London.

Had to transit Heathrow for 6 hours. I was flying standby on Air Canada and the check-in agent said she would have put me in business class but my shoes weren't appropriate and i shouldn't be wearing jeans. Emirates dresscode usually consists of jeans and flipflops so hadn't realised they would be so strict! So she made me go out and buy a pair of shoes, there was only one shop in the airport selling shoes and i ended up forking out 25 quid on a pair of little indian sequinned shoes two sizes too small. i couldn't figure out which was the left foot and the right as they were cut exactly the same. decided to go all out and bought a pashmina as well, now i looked appropriate for business class. went back to check-in and after all of that she ends up giving me an economy seat anyway! Ah well, at least i was on the plane. Another 9 and a half hours and several blisters later I had arrived in Vancouver.

My friend Jamie picked me up from the airport and we went back to his place and hung out for a few hours catching up. It had been 3 years since i was last there and had lived in Whistler for a year and 3 months, the best time of my life! So it was nice to be back. Vancouver is one of my favourite cities as well. Later on Jamie dropped me off at the bus station where i got on the greyhound bus for the 2 hour bus ride to Whistler. Slept most of the way and arrived into Whistler village just after 10:30pm from where i took a taxi to my friend Ryans house, right on Alta Lake. It had taken me 36 hours from the time i had left home in Dubai to arriving at Ryans house but as soon as i had got off that bus i knew i was back in heaven and was all worth it. Stayed up catching up on all the goss before crashing out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb