Morning in Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
February 2nd 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was pretty tired but forced myself to get up. Left the hotel and caught a tram into the town centre. The tram ride was interesting, it was about 8am so obviously there were still some people coming home from their previous night out. A bunch of skinheads covered in tattoos came on and sat behind me, beer cans still in hand. I didn't dare look at them funny. Luckily they got off before me.

Walked around the town and stopped into a cafe for a coffee and bagel for breakfast. Then walked into marienplatz square to go and see the neo-gothic Rathus (Town Hall). I had no idea how amazing this would be. I was walking along half asleep, all of a sudden i look up and see this enormous gothic town hall with its world famous Glockenspiel in the 85 metre tower. I just stared at it for about 10 minutes, absolutely mesmerised. Just behind is the Frauenkirche (church of our lady). Walked around the square and found a shop selling snowboard gear. After searching all six floors i didn't find what i was looking for. Went further down the road and tried another shop but again no luck. Time was ticking and i had a plane to catch so made my way back to the hotel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb