New years eve


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 8th 2011
Published: January 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello there,

New Years seems a while ago now but I shall write an entry about it none the less!

Due to a few changes in plans I ended up spending New Years at a friends party in a lovely big lodge type house just out of town. We started the night at my friend with the cool house's house and then did a house hop around the area picking up all the people who were going to the party and having a drink at each of their houses before moving on with a huge group of us to the last house where the hosts were very grateful to see all of their guests turning up at once (they had started to think that we had stood them up!).

The rest of the evening was spent in the usual jolly New years manor, then at 5 to midnight somebody decided that it was a new year and started the countdown! We had all welcomed the new year 5 minutes early because nobody had the heart to tell the guy that his watch was wrong! So with a puzzled expression on my face I turned on the TV and saw that we still had 5 minutes to go, started the proper countdown 5 minutes later and we had a second round of celebration! Having already celebrated New Years with my Australian house mates in the morning, with my English friends over the phone at 4pm and twice with my friends over here, I ended up doing really rather well out of international New Years!

I slept at my mate with the cool house's house on the sofa bed with numerous other stragglers who had missed the last bus and woke up in the morning to the most beautiful view out of his panoramic window! It really made me appreciate being here and I felt an awesome sense of happiness about my general situation and optimism about what the new year might bring.

Once everybody had surfaced we went for a first riding session of the new year with a huge group of us from the house. We went up to an area called 7th Heaven which is a huge gladed area of runs which make for some of the most beautiful riding you could ever imagine. There are views over the rest of the resort from the top and some fun enclosed tree runs at the bottom.

All in all my first international New Year celebrations went very well!

Happy new year to everybody at home and all the best,

Lots of Love,

Laurie





Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

New years dayNew years day
New years day

The top of 7th Heaven
New years dayNew years day
New years day

The view from the top of 7th Heaven


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb