Christmas in Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
January 8th 2011
Published: January 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi there,

After moving into my new house on the 23rd it was time for Christmas. On Christmas eve I went to a friends Christmas eve party in their house just outside of Whistler. The house is really nice and the lads who live there are all absolutely brilliant. Most of them are on career breaks and you can really tell that they appreciate being in Whistler and they have a proper enthusiasm for life and a welcoming attitude. They have a motto on the wall which says "Here for a good time...not a long time!". That basically sums up the guys in the house and their attitude to their seasons.

On Christmas day I went over to one of the houses where some of my friends from the course are staying for the season. Latitude (the name of the house) is a really comfortable and welcoming wood beams/low ceiling type lodge which houses 14 people and so it was a lovely place to spend Christmas day. I took my presents over there because I didnt fancy opening them on my own, and because a few of them hadnt got any posted over, I shared mine around and everybody opened one! Nobody should miss out on ripping open wrapping paper on christmas day! We were all crowded around one of the beds like in willy wonka which was quite funny but it felt nice to have friends around me on Christmas day!

On Christmas evening we went to a restaurant in town and had a Christmas dinner with all the different roast meats! The photo doesnt really do it justice. It was actually very nice! Then I went home and crashed out on the sofa and fell asleep.

I had been quite worried about Christmas, being away from family for the first time, and although it was sad not seeing anybody it was good to have friends around who were in the same situation and in the end I had a lovely time and felt positively festive by the end of the day!

Thankyou very much to everybody who send presents and cards. They definitely made the day much more Christmasey and I have not had a shortage of chocolate since!

Lots of Love,

Laurie




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

My Christmas dinnerMy Christmas dinner
My Christmas dinner

It was much nicer than it looks!


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb