Athlete's Village


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 9th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for the delay in updates, should be a bit more frequent now.

Well, it is a beautiful day here in Whistler. Sun shining, moutains looking like paintings, and athletes everywhere! Most of the nations are here now, and it's just humming up here.

3 days to go, and it still doesn't feel quite real to me. I keep expecting someone to tell me that it's all been a mistake, and that I have to go home! Haven't really had the opportunity to work on many people yet, but I know that that will change in the next 72 hours.

*Yawn* my shifts run 7am-3pm, so this sees me up at 5am every day to get here on time and settle in for the day. Needless to say (for those of you who know me and my best friend, Insomnia), this has been a bit of a challenge as I'm still up quite late by default. But the people I work with are amazing, and I just can't turn down a night out with them. Last night saw massage therapists, flight paramedics, physios, pharmacists and chiros all sitting down to sushi and then heading out for beers. Amazing. To be fair, it takes a certain type of professional in all those modalitites to volunteer their time as we are. It's not just any personality, so we've found that we all gel very well with each other. Haha speaking of which, Durex has provided over 17,000 condoms for the games, and they're everywhere!

It's just amazing to stand outside the polyclinic, BC sun hitting my face, watching potential gold-medal winners all around me and just breathe it all in. This place is going to change so much in the next 3 days--I can't even comprehend how.


S

Advertisement



11th February 2010

WOW
I can't imagine the world you have become a part of. It's makes me excited just reading about it. What an incredible experience. 17000 condoms huh? Guess we know why those athletes are in such good shape ;o)

Tot: 0.397s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb