Quick and easy


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
February 4th 2010
Published: February 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right, so internet costs about $10/minute (Whistler in general is a nightmare for anyone on a budget in the first place!) so I'm going to aim for quality in this one.

Had my orientation and first taste of the Athlete's Village and the Polyclinic in which I'll be working yesterday. Amazing. Think M*A*S*H but modern. Every modality available, including an OR with cardiac surgeons and doctors on call 24hours/day. Heli-pad out back for drop-ins and state of the art technology. Incredible.

This is the first time in history that massage and chiropractic care have been part of the host country's services to the athletes of the world. I am part of history, and it gives me goosebumps every time I think about it!

All the people that I'll be working with are super cool and all as excited as I am about being here. I have today and tomorrow off, which suits me! I'm staying in a hotel that views out onto the mountaints (pics to follow as soon as I can, I promise!), complete with kitchenette and the bathtub in the bedroom. Don't ask, I do not know why.

Have been out running along the trails--there's something about being in the mountains that does this to me. Not since I was up in Ullapool (Oh, Scotland, how I love you) have I just wanted to get outside this much.

Am not allowed to post pics of inside the Athlete's Village until the games are over, but as soon as I can.....

Loving it out here, although eager to work and keep exploring!


S

Advertisement



4th February 2010

YAAAAAY YOU
I'm so excited for you. That's awesome that you're part of the first team to do this. Make sure you destroy some of the opposing teams muscles without them knowing okay? hehe. have fun and take it all in. That's sooo so exciting.
5th February 2010

That's awesome Schazz, I'm happy to hear that you are loving it so far. I look forward to the pictures and hope to hear some great stories come March.
11th February 2010

Herstory
Who better to be a part of history than you, the person who fully appreciates their role in it. What an honour! The sights your eyes have seen in the past year...oh my...mountains and oceans and hostels galore! Canada's happy to have to back!

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb