Merry Christmas from Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Its really hard to believe that its Christmas in 2 days! Although its very atmospheric with all the lights in the pine trees, and even though I’m constantly humming cheesy Christmas songs in my head after listening to them all day at work, it just doesn’t feel like Christmas! Perhaps it’s the sub zero temperatures, or the notable lack of the smell of mangoes, gardenias and jasmine in the air, and very much the fact that my family and friends are on the other side of the world… oooh I think the homesickness is setting in!! I wish you all a very merry Christmas - be sure to have a few prawns for me and soak up some sunshine. Oh yes there’s something else that we’re lacking here! I am really missing you all and will be thinking of you - hopefully you’ve all got holidays over the next few weeks so kick back and enjoy yourselves.

Christmas here will be very different - I’ll work during the day then we might try and go out for dinner either Christmas eve or night. We have our work party on the 4th Jan which should involve turkey and all the trimmings. They run fondue nights where you are taken by horse and sleigh out to the Fairmont Golf Course for a fondue dinner so we’ll try and do that in the next week or so also. Should be different! Also booking in dog sledding and snow mobiling!

Work is going well. I’m enjoying it more and more as I realise the perks of my job, which is fast becoming the most enviable position amongst the Aussies. We have been given a few split shifts each week which means I work 3 hours in the morning then have 10.30am - 2pm to go boarding, before returning to work for another 3 hours or so. Not a bad deal really! The tips have also been much better than expected - so far my best is $30 in a day but I’m working on it!

Our little flat is going well. We’ve got a new couch-mate this week - the housing situation here is really terrible so there are a lot of people crashing on friends’ couches until they can find something. Looking forward to having our lounge room back though! Its small enough with 4 let alone 5 people!

Nothing much else to tell - have been trying not to go out too often. I think the standard here must be 5 nights a week however Sara and I are old grannies at 26 so we prefer nights at home with a book… very sad I know but we love it. Still manage to end up out 2-3 nights a week however the nightlife is really disappointing. All the pubs/clubs have locals nights which are reminiscent of Berry St - top 40 hits, lots of girls in skimpy dresses and boys on the prowl to pick up. So you can understand why we stay home!!! Will have to try and get down to Van for some quality live music every month or so.

Well take care all and I'll be in touch soon. As soon as we get down to Van we'll get a web cam and get skype hooked up so I can actually talk to you and SEE you all!

Love Gen xxx

p.s. all my photos are online so click here to see them. Would love to see photos of everyone from home so please send them to me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb