Lucy's flight fiasco...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
August 24th 2006
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A warm welcome...A warm welcome...A warm welcome...

Oh how I love the world today, where a city can actually put up a sign like this..it makes me sad...
Christchurch to Auckland
A lovely short flight that went very fast. Beautiful views over the Marlborough Sounds. Was served a scrumptious cookie that curbed my appetite...

Auckland to L.A
I didn't have to collect my luggage here as it was tagged to go all the way to L.A. This gave me some time to have a little browse at the shops. I decided to by some moisturisers in a beauty salon that was there as I'd already gone through security and thought it would be okay to take on board. I then found out that this was not the case at the second security point. I put all my belongings through the x-ray machine, padded down and scanned with a hand-held metal detector, then was called over by a big scary security guard. He told me that I wasn't allowed to take on my recent purchases as they were still classified as liquid. I explained that I had only just bought them in duty free and how I thought that that was okay. I asked to go back through to get my money back but he just didn't quite care and threw them in the bin! Man did I get
Flying over L.A...Flying over L.A...Flying over L.A...

Somehow I prefer Aotearoa..by far...
annoyed and stressed out. In the end I asked the chief security guard if he would let me go through to get my money back which he kindly granted me (after getting my bottles out of the bin!). This is when my stress levels rose again, with the ditzy shop assistant who shouldn't have sold me the products in the first place (she knew I was going to L.A) she now couldn't find the 'key' to give my card a refund. So now I have lots of green New Zealand $20 bills, just what I need when I'm leaving the country...

L.A to Vancouver
The 12 hour flight went suprisingly fast and my specially requested vegetarian meal was so good, I still love my plane food! I watched an episode of the The Office but the US version, it was shocking...why oh why did Gervais and Merchant sell it to them, bad move.
Before leaving Auckland the flight was slightly delayed because the plane was late coming in. This was fine as I had a couple of hours at L.A where I needed to collect my baggage and check in again. All would've been well if there wasn't another delay on the runway. A rabbit, yes a cute little bunny was on the runway and we had to wait for it to be removed...this is what made me miss my flight to Canada...
I didn't have a phone number for my friend who was picking me up in Vancouver so I called my parents (who have been over here for a few days now) to try and email her before she left her house. Unfortunately she didn't check her email but I did find a internet booth and was able to track down her phone number. The story ends well though, Liisa came and picked me up from my later flight and I was brought back to a lovely home environment again where I had a well deserved shower and rested my sleepy head...

Advertisement



30th August 2006

Times up!
Just leave it and come home xx
30th August 2006

How many?
Times do you like using the word man, man! Looking forward to seeing you on Saturday, make sure and pop in on your way home....Lydia is waiting! xxx MMMMMwwwaaahh PIB x
30th August 2006

Kia ora (keeping the nz spirit Alive!)
Haha it was so funny when you was stressing out to me in Auckland about all that. (come back to auckland now.) L.A.s looking rather, erm, Flat! Im so jealous your in Vancouver though...and you know it! Do another bloggggg! i want to see more of canadaaaaaaaaa! xxxxxx
30th August 2006

hello
Hi Wonderwoman i just want to say it will be nice to see you again after your wonderful adventure finishes soon,take care.Love Uncle C.
30th August 2006

Why?
Why did Gervais and Merchant sell...doh!...coz they are multi millionaires no doubt sis....looking forward to seeing you now, make sure and wash your hair and brush your teeth as i do not want you to frighten J and L!! DONT FORGET JOSHUAS BALLOON!
31st August 2006

Can't wait to ae yououououou!!!!!!

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1086s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb