Until next time Aotearoa...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
August 21st 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sun is shining, the weather is sweet...Sun is shining, the weather is sweet...Sun is shining, the weather is sweet...

The beauty that is the West Coast...
Well my time here in the beautiful land Aotearoa has come to an end. The last week has just gone so fast but it has been a great last week to my travels in New Zealand. I will put up some pictures for you all soon!

I left Franz Josef and stayed in Punakaiki on the West Coast. The hostel was the best hostel I have EVER stayed in. It was more like a three storey house in the middle of lush green forest. There was a log fire which I was rubbish at lighting and heaps of board games (Jenga was intense). The house was all open plan (which I love) and all the beds had a hot water bottle on them which was a lovely touch. Plus the owner made freshly baked granary bread-delicious! Because I was staying 2km away from the little town of Punakaiki, there were no outside lights anywhere. I was very scared walking to the other house further down from where I was, even with a torch...I can't believe how scared I was! Especially when the torch light shone on the trees - I had a sick feeling in my stomach and felt like
What I'll miss the most...What I'll miss the most...What I'll miss the most...

I really do not want to part with the magnificent mountains that are all over the south island...
crying...it was a very strange moment...

We drove along Arthurs Pass highway to get to Christchurch, stopping in Springfield. Again the hostel I rested in for the night is in my top 5. It was Japanese themed which I love, and for $50 you got dinner, bed and breakfast, with the dinner being traditional Japanese cuisine-my favourite! The Arthurs Pass highway is such a beautiful drive. Going right through the snow covered mountains, I just love mountains now and am going to miss seeing them nearly every day...

My last destination in New Zealand is Christchurch, where I am now. It is a very pretty city, with older architecture and a beautiful cathedral. I went to the evening choral prayer service there on Sunday - it was actually amazing. A full choir was there (I love choral music) singing such complex, wonderful harmonies - it just made me shiver the whole time. The atmosphere was so warm, with candles everywhere, this is when I think cathedrals look the most stunning.

Ian and I also went out to a small event called 'Scared Scriptless'. Four people, improvising drama using stimulus from the audience. It was hilarious, reminded me
Hmmm...Hmmm...Hmmm...

Do I stay in New Zealand or go back home...
of my drama lessons at school...plenty of funny moments there, one involving a massive boot smacking me over the forehead before my final exam (thanks Adam, I'll never let it go..ahahha)! Although it wasn't that funny at the time!

So tonight is my last sleep in Aotearoa, next one other than on the plane, will be in Canada! Encase you didn't know, my cousin is getting married on the 26th of August so I am stopping over in Vancouver before returning home. My cousins and parents will be there, man it is going to be strange seeing everyone again after being away for so long, I'm so excited to see my wonderful family again. I'm also excited about having some summer weather! I've had enough of winter for now, I prefer winter when it's the Christmas season, that's when it should be! I'm also going to be staying with a friend in Vancouver who I met on my 10 day outback tour. She's picking me up from the airport which is so lovely of her, and it will be so nice to see a friendly face in another country. I can't wait, Canada here I come...
[countdown=20060903 text=until I'm home]

Advertisement



21st August 2006

Your wrong
It's 12 days not 10 days
21st August 2006

international traveller
you really have had the most full and amazing time lucy! and that is so fab that you are going to Canada before returning home - have lots of fun. and i'll c u very soon for a catch up and photo viewing of laura's, yours and my travels. Can't wait!!!
21st August 2006

Doh!
Good at Maths , didnt realise you were coming home early !! MMMMWWWAAAHHHH PIB
21st August 2006

Massive boot
You didnt say that the massive boot not only whacked your forehead, but MASSIVE FOREHEAD!!!!! Spam! lol from your massive foreheaded brother!
22nd August 2006

Lucy Lucy! its about 5 and my sis is on the phone and i got in at about 4:15?? and im not sure if i missed your call or if your trying to call right now! i hope i havent miss you..if not at least we spoke this morning aye. ok well, have a safe flight out of NZ...come back soon though! Aotearoa needs ya! Haere r..xxx P.s. thanks for the Rennet warning! lol
22nd August 2006

Good to hear you had a brilliant time. Can't wait to see you when ur back and complete our posse again
23rd August 2006

Hi Lucy it's been great reading and watching of all your travels and all the funny'est comments, all the best for your homeward bound trips ka kite ano haere ra from NZ.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb