Day 22 - Day 40 - NOTHING REALLY


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
September 19th 2005
Published: October 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

19 September - 7 October

My poor travel diary is looking a little sad.

I haven't really done anything particularly exciting since Vancouver Island. Univrsity is ticking along. I played netball in the weekend. The game was an hour long (15 minute quarters) and I nearly died because I'm so unfit. That prompted me into fitness action.. I have been running every morning this week!!

On the subject of fitness, Vancouver people are obsessed with fitness and health. They are all total gym bunnies. Ash asked me if the Canadian girls are hot and I can only say yes. They are so in shape that they are all pretty nice looking. I'm told that the rest of Canada areno't such fitness freaks.

There are also so many vegetarians here. At the pizza shop we offer 2 meat and 1 vege pizza at any one time. I was amazed by how many vegetarians there were.

On Sunday night I went to death by chocolate for dessert with the other Kiwis. A homeless man came into the restaurant and he somehow managed to steal Azadehs bag from beside her chair. We did not even notice until someone said that he dropped his jumper and then bent down to pick it up and must have taken the bag too. So crazy!! She lost her new bag, new makeup, her phone, credit card, bus pass, cards... Really awful (and she had no travel insurance).

What else has been happening...

I visited Wreck Beach which is a 10 minute walk from Gage. To get to the beach you have to go down hundreds... really hundreds... of stairs. Coming back up was a bit of a mission.

The beach was ok.. Not really sand like home.. it was more rock like. And here comes the exciting bit... Its a nude beach!! Lucky me I got to see old men wearing shirts, socks and shoes but no pants!! Really quite disturbing!

What else has been happening???

The NHL (National Hockey League) started last night so I watched the game on tv.. It was ok.. dont know all the rules. Quite nteresting because we talk about players etc in sports law and so sometimes I know a bit about the players.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb