Day 40 - Day 43


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
October 8th 2005
Published: October 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

8th, 9th, 10th October - Thanksgiving weekend


Kat text me and asked me if I wanted to go up to Whistler as she had a ride up there. Thought it would be cool to see the town before all the snow came.

The drive up there was amazing... You drive along the waters edge. It will be so awesome when there is more snow.

Kat went on a hike so I met up with Debbie, Kendall, Laura and Peter who were all staying down there in a backpackers for the weekend.

Whistler was very cute. A classic snow town! It was a lot bigger then I thought. We spent the day looking around the shops. There was a massive sale on called the Turkey sale (its Thanksgiving). Everything from last season was hugely discounted and new season stuff was also a little cheaper. Well a lot cheaper then NZ prices!!

I didn't know that Whistler and Blackcomb mountains were right beside each other. So I can't wait to come up here and board as I can ride both...YAY

So really not much else to say about Whistler..Lots of window shopping... but not much buying...

We went on a bus ride around the village (the main part of Whistler) and scoped out all the flash Hotels. When I go back Im going to go and look at some of the flash houses... apparently Bill Gates has a place somewhere on Blackcomb.

How about the rest of the weekend???

I had a very busy week at uni coming up, my 3 hour Sports Law presentation and 2 assignments, so I spent most of the weekend trying to do some work. I finally found out when my exams were and they are terrible... Wed 7, Wed 14 and Tue 20 - So spread out... I wanted them to be over with fast so I could travel around... oh well!!!

Also, as it is Thanksgiving, I had to have a Thanksgiving dinner. I was unsure whether I would go as I had so much work, but at the last minute I thought ïts not every day you get to celebrate Thanksgiving, especially since we don't have it in NZ".

Simon and the rest of the boys have been playing in the law school rugby team and one of their team mates (Porshe) is loaded and asked them all to dinner. He said that they could invite any other international students they knew so a big group of us went along.

He definately was loaded alright!!! He had the Penthouse apartment (31st floor) rightin the city looking out over the harbour. Fab views!! Plus he provided everything, food, nibbles and drinks!! Very nice food. He cooked two roast turkeys, stuffing, vegetables, pumpkin pie...etc etc etc. He even had some bread flown in from Paris!! and he bought a whole lot of new cutlery just for us..

It was a lovely dinner. I had a great time. Debbie and I had to leave early so that we could go home and work on our presentation which was a little disappointing!







Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

WhistlerWhistler
Whistler

Kendall (aka "Kenny")
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Porshe and Azadeh
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

The view
ThanksgivingThanksgiving
Thanksgiving

Candace, Debbie (or as the Canadians think we say it "Dibby") and I


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.8kb