Day 19, 20 , 21 - Vancouver Island


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Vancouver
September 16th 2005
Published: September 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Friday - 16 September

I had 2 assignments due on Monday but as I was going away to Vancouver Island for the weekend I had to get them done. So I spent all day on Friday trying to do them. Everyone else who was heading to Vancouver Island (Candace, Azadeh, Sarah, Simon, Jeff, Dan, Mick, Tony and Peter) left at 11am but Debbie didn't finish uni until 3.30pm and so Kat, Laura (a different one) and I waited for her.

The trip over to Victoria (the main city on Vancouver Island and the capital of British Columbia) was really really long. We had to catch 3 different buses to get to the ferry terminal and then another bus from the ferry to Victoria. It took 6 hours!!! The ferry ride was amazing though as we saw the sun set.

We arrived at our Hostel just after 10pm. Everyone else had gone out on the town so we dropped our bags and went to meet them. We got to the bar and I couldn't get in because I didn't have 2 forms of ID... so Debbie and I went back to the hostel and got more ID... We finally made it inside at around 11pm. The bar was pretty cool and they were giving out free red hats...

Saurday - 17 September

Today we had a good look around Victoria. It is a beautiful city! I was suprised that there were no high-rise buildings and I didn't see a CBD. It was very touristy. I loved the horse drawn carriages.

I went for a ride on a scooter out to the coast which was really amazing. I also did a spot of shopping and found this fantastic Christmas shop. It had the most beautiful decorations..

We finished off the day with dinner and looking at all the lit up buildings.

Sunday - 18 September

I was unsure what to do with my last day in Victoria. Kat and Laura had gone whale watching on Saturday and they had seen a pod of 90 Killer whales. I asked the woman at the hostel reception what I should go and see and she said that the main attraction that Victoria was known for were the Burchard Gardens. I was unsure whether I would really appreciate looking around gardens (especially as it cost $22 to get in) but they were the most incredible gardens I have ever seen.

They start with the sunken garden full of bright flowers, waterfalls etc. Then there is a Japanese garden a rose garden and an Italian garden. They were very very beautiful...photos could never explain it. I took over 100 photos!! Thank god for the digital camera!!

After the gardens we made our way back to Vancouver.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb