no creative title comes to mind


Advertisement
Published: March 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dahna: mmm… it has been a while since my last blog entry. It’s a little harder to write regularly now because we are in that limbo land somewhere between travel and normal day-to-day existence. Now that I have found myself a job that involves sitting infront of the computer for 40 plus hours a week, the last thing I feel like doing is sitting infront of one in my spare hours. But, since it is a rainy Sunday, I thought I’d take the time to put in a quick entry. I’m becoming a bit addicted to this blog thing. I confess. I might have to start another few.

The weather has been continuing its general rainy, wet, cold thing so I don’t have much interesting stuff to share and feel like I should spare you the details about what food we have eaten and what books we have read… well ok, I have almost finished Zadie Smith's "White Teeth". Tis a good, fun read. And food-wise, well, Jono has been doing most of the cooking since I have been working and he has been a man of leisure. He does a mean curry...

We did get out one weekend to check out a little climbing area in North Vancouver at the Lighthouse. It did not have a huge variety of climbs to offer and they were all just short top-roping routes but it was a nice place to go for a half day. The point is all protected old-growth forest, so that was pretty cool. As we set up our top rope we chose to look to the West where it was clear blue sky and avoid the ominous clouds coming in from the East. But avoidance strategies were not enough and sooner rather than later it snowed on us, making climbing close to impossible. But ‘twas nice to get out. Jono created a new North Vancouver boulder problem on an old tree root.

We have also moved house since the last time we wrote. We are now living in North Vancouver which is higher up the Mountain, but still only 20 minutes from the city. We pretty much have the mountains at our doorstep. It is great to step out and smell fresh mountain air rather than the inner city smells of litter and too many people that were starting to get us both a bit down. There were cool things about living in Commercial Drive, but trees and trails and mountains do it for us more than cafes and bars. Walking past people on The Drive constantly asking you for money gets a little bit draining after a while too. You feel bad if you give them something, because it is always so token anyway and you feel bad if you don't.

Oh, and seeing people spitting on the streets is kind of gross too. It is really really common here. I don't know if it is everywhere in Canada or just on Commercial Drive. I'll keep you posted on whether people in North Vancouver do this or not.

We had a nice welcome to North Vancouver moment on our first night. We went to the supermarket to grab a quick few things for dinner. Mental note to self Never go to supermarkets when hungry! While Jonno went dashing back for that last minute addition of ice cream, I was standing near the line up with produce tumbling out of my hands trying out my juggling skills and a fellow shopper came up and gave me a basket "I know how that feels," she giggled. The same woman was getting into her car as we trundled out the doors and she asked if we would lived near by and whether we would like a lift home.

Ok, the sun is coming out, and I am having an allergic reaction to the computer. Better to be brief I guess than non-existant.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



20th March 2007

Great Pictures!!
Loved the tree hanging off the rocks over the sea - really great pictures - please keep the pics and news rolling along - love from us!!
25th March 2007

Hello
Hey guys. Sounds like your both having a great time. Congrats on both your jobs and new house. Hope everything is going well. Will write a big email soon. Love lots Liss xoxox

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb